Kwara ACN Appoints New Caretaker Committee

Date: 2013-05-11

The crisis tearing apart members of the Kwara State chapter of the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) may soon be over with the appointment of a new Caretaker Committee to take over affairs of the party from the Kayode Olawepo-led committee.

Under the new arrangement, Sola Iji, a chieftain of the party from Ondo state will serve as the new Chairman of the Caretaker committee.

According to a letter addressed to Iji from the office of the National Secretary of the ACN, six members of the Kwara ACN would serve as members of the Committee.

Beside, the letter, made available to The Guardian in Ilorin and endorsed by the party’s National Secretary, Lawal Shuaibu mandated the committee to reconcile all the warring factions within the party ahead of formal ceremony of merger plan between the ACN and other parties ahead of 2015 general elections.

The leadership tussle between Governorship flag bearer of ACN in the last election, Dele Belgore, SAN and National Publicity Secretary, Alhaji Lai Mohammed almost tore the party apart before the intervention from the national body of the party.

According to the letter, other members of the new committee are Prince Shuaib Olanrewaju, Alhaji Abdulraheem Akorede, Alhaji Samari Abdullahi, Issa Umar, Dr Saad Omoiya, and Rev. Bunmi Olusona.

The national leadership charged the committee to work towards eliminating all sorts of factionalisation within the party and ensure a seamless transition into the merger process with other merging parties.

It said: “This assignment is as important as it is tasking and therefore, requires your extreme dedication and determination to execute.”

The leadership advised the committee to, in the course of carrying out the assignment, solicit for cooperation of the party’s elders but warned that it should note that it is only answerable to the national secretariat.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Kwara Central     Garba Ayodele Wahab     IDPU     Tosho Yaqub     Oja-Oba     Code Of Conduct Tribunal     Ariyo     Aishat Sulu-Gambari     Abdulkadir Orire     Yakub Lai Gobir     Igbaja     Lafiagi     Olomu     Cassava Growers' Association     Muhammadu Buhari     Jani Ibrahim     School Of Nursing     COEASU     Ahmed     Bayo Lawal     Jamiu Oyawoye     Ibrahim Gambari     Cornelius Adebayo     Yunus Oniboki     Surajudeen Akanbi     CUTI     Post Utme     Tunde Akanbi     Ayegbeni     Ajase-Ipo     Tunde Saad     Revenue Court     Pius Abioje     Clara Nwachukwu     Awili Pedro     Kulende     Musibau Akanji     Alikinla     Micheal Imoudu     Amina Susa'a De Ahmed     Mogaji Aare     Habeeb Saidu     Local Government     Arandun     V.O. Abioye     Mumeen Lah     Amos Sayo     Tanke     Ijagbo Health Centre     Mashood Dauda     Bureau Of Lands     Monsurat Omotosho     LEAH Charity Foundation     Olaitan Adefila     Titus Suberu-Ajibola     Ojo Fadumila     Abdulhakeem Amao     Sherif Shagaya     Jaigbade Alao     Omoniyi M. Ayinla     Reuben Paraje     Ayeni     Wasiu Odewale     The Herald     Abdulazeez Uthman     Ifelodun     Nurudeen Muhammed     Y.A. Abdulkareem     Tosin Saraki     Firdaos Amasa     Isiaka Gold     Akorede     Ayo Salami     Adamu Atta     Khadijat Ayoola Yusuf     Oba Abdulraheem     Onilorin Of Ilorin