Immunisation: Kwara is polio-free, says Gov. AbdulRazaq

Date: 2020-02-14

Governor AbdulRazaq AbdulRahman of Kwara says the state has achieved and sustained its polio-free status for the past five months across the 16 local government areas. AbdulRahman, who was represented by his Deputy, Mr Kayode Alabi, disclosed this on Thursday in Ilorin, during the flag-off of the February Round of the National Immunization Plus Days.

He lamented that the state had a recurrent outbreak of the circulating Vaccine Derived Polio (cVDPV) during the last administration. “The situation was so bad that Kwara was ranked with the highest number of the virus isolated both from human and environmental samples.

"This is as a result of years of neglect, poor funding and donor dependence of the state in the implementation of immunisation and primary healthcare programmes," he said.

The governor stated that his administration took ownership and funding of the immunisation programme which, he said, has interrupted the transmission of the virus in the state. According to him, the flag-off of the 2020 NIPDs expanded programme on immunisation in Nigeria has achieved some growth in service coverage in the last few years with huge investment by government and development partner agencies. He added that the 2015 and 2016 Multi Indicators Cluster and National Immunisation Coverage Surveys showed that Pentavalent 3 Vaccine coverage was 33 per cent and full immunisation coverage was 23 per cent.

According to him, this implies that about 60 per cent of eligible children are not appropriately immunised with all life saving vaccines. 'This coverage is inadequate to provide protection from vaccine preventable diseases," he said. The governor noted that the state will continue to meet the standard of requirements for quality polio campaign and strengthening of routine immunisation service delivery. AbdulRazaq therefore urged mothers, religious bodies, schools, care givers and community leaders across the state to make all children between ages of zero and five years available for the NIPDs commencing on Feb. 15.

The state Commissioner for Health, Dr Raji Razaq, represented by the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry, Mr Iliyasu Idris, described immunisation as the most important public health intervention known to man. He said that vaccination has prevented the spread of diseases and deaths all over the world. Earlier, Dr Abimbola Folorunso, the Executive Secretary, Kwara Primary Health Care Development Agency, observed that since August 2019, no case of the polio virus has been recorded in the state. (NAN)



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

George Funsho Adebayo     Kunle Okeowo     Gbajabiamila     Quareeb Islamic Association     CKNG     Amusement Park     Binta Abubakar-Mora     Lanre Aremu     Halimat Yusuf     Oke-opin     Adesoye     International Public Sector Accounting Standards     Ijakadi     Moshood Mustapha     Tunde Oyawoye     Kayode Oyin-Zubair     John Mayokun Dada     Shagari     Shuaib Abdulkadir     Muhammad Yahya     Offa     Geri-Alimi Split Diamond Interchange     Abdulrahman Abdulrazak     Hamza Usman     Goodluck Jonathan     Isin     Kwara State Infrastructure Development Fund     Alimi     Odo-Owa     Fulani     NAWOJ     Saka Saadu     Agbarere     Sobi Specialist Hospital     Tope Daramola     Kwara State Fish Farmers Association     Mogaji Aare     Moji Makanjuola     Mohammed Yisa     Abdulkadir Remi Hawawu     Ajeigbe     KSIRS     Salmon Babatunde Salmon     Moses Afolayan     Shonga     Awodun     Dumagi     Ijagbo Health Centre     Ilorin West/Asa Federal Constituency     Oyawoye     Akume     Busari Alabi Alausa     Bolaji Abdullahi     Bello Bature     Yusuf Babatunde Abdulwahab     Toyin Sanusi     Saidu Yaro Musa     Kayode Oyin Zubair     NURTW     V.O. Abioye     Mohammed Halidu     Olusegun Adeniyi     Kwara Apc     Yusuf Amuda Abubakar     Aliyu Muyideen     Bashiru Makama     Hamidu Olowo     Saka Onimago     Photo News     Babaita     Abdulrazaq Adebayo     Joseph Yemi Ajayi     Gurei     Oyun     Bello Taoheed Abubakar     Durbar     Oladimeji Thompson