HIV/AIDS rate in Kwara on the increase

Date: 2017-09-13

The Kwara State AIDS Control Agency (KWASACA) has expressed worry over the rate of HIV/AIDS in the state.

Dr. Alabi Seleem, the Project Manager of KWASACA told the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Ilorin on Tuesday that the rate might increase from the 2.3 per cent recorded in 2014.

Seleem who said that the last survey was carried out in 2014, added that there were indications that the rate had increased.

The project manager said that the state of the economy and the donor agencies that had pulledľout of the project had limited most of the activities of the agency.

He said that there was the need for the agency to embark on a statewide survey in order to determine the current rate of HIV/AIDS in the state. "It is important for us to carry out a statewide study rather than a sentinel study to determine the current prevalence in the state.

"The rate as at 2012 was 1.8 per cent, and as at the last study, which was done in 2014, it increased to 2.3 per cent. "Currently, we do not know the rate because we have not been able to carry out any recent relevant study.

"However, we will not be surprised that the rate may have increased," he said. Seleem said that the agency was concentrating on strengthening data collation and technical operations.


Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Simeon Sule Ajibola     LAK Jimoh     Odo-Owa     Kayode Ibrahim     Kwara Politics     George Innih     Kayode Issa     Florence Saraki     Rueben Parejo     Hassan A. Saliu     Oke-Oyi     Saadu Alanamu     Kulende-UITH     Abdullahi Atanda     Busari Alabi Alausa     Tosin Saraki     Inside Kwara     Olaitan Adefila     Abdul-Rasheed Na 'Allah     AIT Ilorin     Oba Abdulraheem     Kwara State Government     IF-K     S.O. Opowoye     Ilorin     Lola Ashiru     Ilota     Olaosebikan     KWIRS     Geri-Alimi Split Diamond Interchange     March 28     Taofik Mustapha     IFK     Rafiu Ibrahim     Ilorin East/South Federal Constituency     Adamu Attah     NTA Ilorin     Jaiz Bank     Firdaos Amasa     Suleiman Idris     Sulyman Atolagbe Alege     IEDPU     Village Alive Development Association     Olomu     Musa Ayinla Yeketi     Abdulrazaq Adebayo     Oke-Kura     Osi     Sunday Fagbemi     Oja-Oba     Moshood Mustapha     Senate Presidency     Salihu Ajia     Kazeem Adekanye     Esuwoye     Ishola Abdullahi     AbdulGaniyu Kareem     COEASU     Abdullahi G. Mohammad     KWACOBPA     Kudirat Arinola Lawal     A.G.F Abdulrasaq     Admiralty Villa     Yusuf Amuda Abubakar     Apaola     Leke Ogungbe     Awili Pedro     Ndakene     Age AbdulKareem     Saidu Yaro Musa     Abubakar Olusola Saraki     Hamidat Sulyman-Yusuf     Amasa     Abubakar B.M     Magaji Are