I'll lead Kwara to greatness, says Gov AbdulRazaq

Date: 2019-06-15
*Hails Buhari for June 12, role in Kwara's liberation

Kwara State Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq yesterday said the state was poised for greatness on all fronts, having turned the page on decades of socio-economic stagnation.

"Let me reiterate that my government will carry the good people of Kwara State along in this journey of renewed hope and prosperity, and never are we going to disappoint you on our campaign promises, AbdulRazaq said at the event commemorating the June 12 Democracy Day in Ilorin, the capital city.

The event was attended by thousands of supporters and creme de la creme of the state and other prominent Nigerians, including Deputy Governor Kayode Alabi; Speaker of the House of Assembly Salihu Yakubu Danladi; Secretary to the State Government Dr Mamman Jibril; Chief of Staff Aminu Adisa Logun and members of the State House of Assembly.

Others included the state chairman of APC Bashiru Bolarinwa; permanent secretaries; the Emir of Ilorin, Alhaji Ibrahim Gambari; businessman and son of the acclaimed winner of the June 12 presidential polls, Kola Abiola; former Deputy President of the Nigerian Labour Congress and guest speaker of the day Isa Aremu; former governorship aspirants and other dignitaries.

Kwara had shifted its commemoration of the event to yesterday to enable AbdulRazaq join other state governors and President Muhammadu Buhari for the national celebration of June 12 in Abuja.

Mobbed by thousands of ecstatic supporters as he walked up to the stage, AbdulRazaq said he was committed to making the state a better place for every Kwaran and residents of the state.

"I promise to run an inclusive government in order to carry everyone along. No matter your age, sex or tribe, as long as you reside in Kwara State, we will make Kwara a conducive working environment for you, he said.

AbdulRazaq praised President Muhammadu Buhari for his courage to accord June 12 the national recognition it deserves, and his support for the Kwara liberation struggle.

"Nigerians of good conscience have lauded President Buhari for finally recognising the June 12 as Democracy Day," he said.

"We in Kwara State also owe Mr President a debt of gratitude for standing firm on his resolve that people's votes must count in the last election.

"In the past, Kwarans had often voted to reject tyranny and a suffocating hold on their destiny, but they always had their mandates brazenly stolen with nobody to resist such oppression.

"We thank Mr President for standing for truth and justice."

In his opening remarks at the event, Bolarinwa thanked Buhari for "his show of magnanimity for making June 12 a reality."

Aremu, on his part, drew a similarity between the June 12 and the struggle of Kwarans, describing AbdulRazaq as a governor of destiny.

Apart from Abiola and others, he called on Buhari to immortalise other heroes of the June 12 struggle, including the late Comrade Ola Oni, Pa Anthony Enahoro, Abraham Adesanya, and Frank Kokori, among others.

Kola said it took 25 years to get Abuja to recognise and honour the mandate of his late father.

He added, however, that the greatest legacy to the struggle is for Nigerians to treat one another as brothers as they did on the day of June 12 election.

"The significance of June 12 is not just about MKO. It also symbolises what we can do together if we set aside our differences and relate as one tribe,( Kola said in his remarks at the event.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Sola Saraki University     Niyi Osundare     Ibrahim Bio     Albert Ogunsola     Abdul-Rasheed Na 'Allah     Daud Adeshola     Adamu B. Yaqubu     Mamman Saba Jibril     Micheal Imodu-Ganmo Road     Akanbi-Oke     Ilorin Durbar     Muyiwa Oladipo Kanu     Funmilayo Oniwa     Yusuf Ali     Vasolar Consortium     Moronfoye     Chief Of Staff     Senate     Lawal Arinola Kudirat     Tunji Moronfoye     Christopher Odetunde     Ibrahim Abiodun     Bilikis Oladimeji     Ayodele Olaosebikan     Nnazua     Kunle Suleiman     Olatunji Moronfoye     Ayodele Kuburat Olaosebikan     Quran     Babata     Vasolar-Kwara Company Ltd     AbdulRauf Keji     Kazeem Adekanye     Shuaib Abdulkadir     Ajibike Katibi     Olatunji Bamgbola     Economic And Financial Crimes Commission     Falokun-Oja     Kwara Restoration Project     Onilu     Monsurat Omotosho     Mahfouz Adedimeji     Ijagbo     Isin     Odolaye Aremu     Kayode Issa     Gbugbu     Idowu Aremu     Afolayan     Eruku     Niguel Gallando Marcias     Mohammed Tunde-Jimoh     Saka Saadu     Orisun Igbomino     Local Government Pension Board     Musa Alhassan Buge     Oke-Ode     Hamidat Sulyman-Yusuf     Abdulahi Abubakar Bata     CCT     Mustapha AbdulGaniyu     Harmony Holdings     Tunde Akanbi     Ilesha-Baruba     Sunday Fagbemi     Umar Ahmed Gunu     Kwara 2019     Bolaji Abdullahi     Sulyman Atolagbe Alege     Femi Ogunsola     Salman Alada     Ekiti     Kwara State Internal Revenue Service     Kwara Hotel     Tanke     Onilorin Of Ilorin     Laolu Saraki