Date: 2017-09-11

Today, former local government Councillors protested outside Government House, demanding payment of their arrears. While the plight of the protesting ex Councillors is unfortunate especially during these difficult times, it is pertinent to state that the Kwara State Government is not responsible for the said arrears as the Councillors served local government councils, a separate tier of government which gets it allocation directly from the Federal Government as does the state government.

Although the state government recognizes their right to peaceful protests, the protesters are advised to channel their demands to the individual local government councils that are owing them.

Meanwhile, the Ahmed administration stands ready to support the councils to pay these and other arrears as demonstrated by the recent release of N2b to local councils, including N100m, towards offsetting the arrears owed political office holders, out of the recent Paris Club Refund as well as the ongoing efforts to shore up their internally generated revenue.

Alhaji Mahmud Tunde Ajeigbe
Commissioner for Information and Communications

Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Bankole Omisore     Oba Abdulrahim     Mohammed Danjuma     Kola Bukoye     Ita-Ore     Cornelius Adebayo     Valsolar Consultoria     Abubakar B.M     Adamu B. Yaqubu     Nurudeen Muhammed     Moses Salami     Oyun     AbdulHamid Adi     Mohammed Katsina Ahmed     Alimi Abdulrazaq     Abdullahi Imam Abdullahi     Maigidasanma     Binta Abubakar-Mora     NaAllah     Olayinka Olaogun     Lafiagi     Kisra     Elerinjare     Taofik Mustapha     Sango-UITH Road     Sarakite     High Court     Ilorin Airport     Moses Afolayan     Susan Modupe Oluwole     Oke-opin     Ijagbo Health Centre     Idi-Ape     Solomon Edoja     Boko Haram     Yinka Aluko     Kwara State Internal Revenue Service     Dairo Kunle Paul     Ijagbo     Council Of The Wise     Laolu Saraki     Odolaye Aremu     Okasanmi Ajayi     Maja     Kwara 2019     Akorede     Ladi Hassan     Zulu Gambari     Baba-Isale     A.G.F Abdulrasaq     Suleiman Idris     Abubakar Baba Sulaiman     Magaji Are     Salman Alada     Abdullahi Atanda     KWASAA     COEASU     Centre For Peace And Strategic Studies     Jani Ibrahim     Oke-Ero     Sherif Sagaya     Emir Of Ilorin     Esuwoye     Bola Iyabo Ibiyeye Adisa     Yahaya Abdulkareem     Students Union Government     Suleiman Abubakar     Matthew Okedare     Ibrahim Bio     Valsolar-Kwara Company Limited     Kwara Muslim Pilgrims Welfare Board     Wasiu Odewale     Ogbondoroko     Apaola     CCB     Ajidagba