Osinbajo Drops ICPC Board Nominees Under Probe

Date: 2017-08-07

Acting President Yemi Osinbajo has dropped two persons nominated to be commissioners of the reconstituted board of the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission, who are said be under investigations by the ICPC.

The Senior Special Assistant to the Acting President on Media and Publicity, Laolu Akande, said via Twitter yesterday that the Presidency had confirmed that Mr Sa'ad Alanamu and Ms Maimuna Aliyu were being investigated.

The International Centre for Investigative Reporting had Friday reported that Aliyu, a former Executive Director at Aso Savings and Loans, was being investigated for alleged stealing and diversion of public funds and that charges were being drawn up against her by the ICPC before her appointment.

Alanamu was said to be under investigation for, among other allegations, bribery during his tenure as chairman of the Kwara State College of Education.

According to Akande, the Presidency is dropping Aliyu and Alanamu because the fact they are being investigated by the same commission in which they are to serve presents a conflict.

"A basic check showed no court convictions against them. But when weighty petitions come up, this administration will always do the right thing," Akande twitted.

Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Kwara State Internal Revenue Service     Sidikat Uthman Ajibola     Abdulhakeem Amao     Abdul-Rasheed Na 'Allah     Ibrahim Oniye     Kola Bukoye     Adesoye     Kwasu     Vasolar Consortium     Lanwa     Rotimi Atere     Abdulrazaq Magaji     Maryam A. Garuba     Iyiola Oyedepo     Chemiroy Nigeria Limited     Mohammed Tunde-Jimoh     Taofik Abdulkareem Babaita     Basit Olatunji     State Bureau Of Internal Revenue     Funmilayo Isiaka Oniwa     Ilorin     John Dara     Minister     Niguel Gallando Marcias     Ladi Hassan     Igbaja     Kulende     Kupchi Hosea Maxwell     AGF Abdulrazak     Odolaye Aremu     Sulyman Atolagbe Alege     Al-Ilory     Umar Ahmed Gunu     Garba Ayodele Wahab     Musa Alhassan Buge     Mahmud Durosinlohun Atiku     Halimat Yusuf     Muhammed Abdullahi     Baba Isale     The Herald     Akorede     JAMB     Mumeen Lah     Moses Salami     Omotosho     Bamikole Omishore     Share     Mohammed Alabi Lawal     Quranic Recitation Competition     Bello Bature     Senate     Abdulkarim Adisa     Yoruba     Biliaminu Aliu     Wasiu Odewale     Aminat Omodara     Idi-Ape     Sobi FM     Bankole Omisore     Soffiyyallah Kamaldeen     Bond     Tsaragi/Share     Tope Daramola     Mustapha AbdulGaniyu     Sandal     Vasolar Consultoria     Ilorin Emirate     Eleyele     Sulyman Buhari     Imam Gambari     Omupo     SGBN     Joseph Daudu     Dairo Kunle Paul     Transition Implementation Committee     Abdulwahab Oba     Kwara 2019