N13.3B spent on N-Power beneficiaries in Kwara State - Official

Date: 2020-09-10

The Nigerian government has said that it expended a total sum of N13.3 billion to N15,246 on N-Power beneficiaries comprising batches A and B who volunteered in Kwara State before they exited the National Social Investment Programme (NSIP).

The Kwara State NSIP Focal Person, Bashirah Abdulrazaq, disclosed this on Wednesday, according to a report published on The Nation Newspaper.

Ms Abdulrazaq also said about N1.3 billion was spent on 10,000 people who benefited from the "trader moni" programme in the state. The N-Power is Nigeria's work-for-cash social assistance scheme with enrollees paid N30,000 monthly with thousands of direct beneficiaries spread across the key industries targeted by the programme - agriculture, building, health, education, and tax establishment in the state.

Among the five N-Power components, education subcomponent is the most popular, due to a large number of youth deployed to teach in public schools.

The scheme recently disengaged both Batch A and B graduates enrolled in the N-Power scheme, opening a new portal for fresh intakes of volunteers that have seen a record of over five million people that so far applied.

Statistics on Expenditure

According to the report, the Kwara State focal person, however, gave a breakdown of the total expenses spent in a period of five years.

She said the batch A beneficiaries in Kwara state, who were engaged for a period of 42 months, gulped a total sum of N7.4 billion, while the batch B beneficiaries received a total sum of N5.7 billion in 24 months.

"Non-graduates received the sum of N10,000 every month and were engaged for a period of 24 months with a total sum of over N24 million spent,” she added.

Ms Abdulrazaq also said that the Kwara State government has replicated the youth empowerment programme, codenamed K-Power, in order not to throw beneficiaries into the labour market after exiting N-Power.

She also said that about 10,000 people benefitted from the “trader moni” programme in the state with over N1.3 billion disbursed to them. She regretted that the people were not willing to repay the loan.

"Poor masses are not ready to repay the loan after collection because of the attitude of Nigerian to anything from the government thinking it is a national cake. Also, those that disbursed the money do not have records of beneficiaries like phone numbers and addresses. Thus, making it difficult to track them for repayment.

"The programme is designed to provide soft loans to boost small scale businesses in the markets which Vice President Yemi Osinbajo flagged off sometime last year to support women with N10,000 as soft loans to be paid back and then enjoy the next stage of N50,000.

"Unfortunately, many beneficiaries didn't pay back or the channel for payment was not identified, therefore, beneficiaries could not fulfil their pledges.

“Though, the component is going through restructuring to see it achieves its objectives,” she said.

Ms Abdulrazaq also said that the state government has replicated NSIP scheme in the state, tagged Kwara state Social investment programme, (KWASSIP), adding that, 'in view of that, governor Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq keyed into the programme by establishing the following: owo arugbo – stipend for the aged, owo isowo- soft loans to petty traders, ounje ofe – homegrown free feeding programme for public primary school pupils and K-Power for the unskilled youth."



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Nurudeen Muhammed     KWASAA     Omotoso     Aisha Ahman Pategi     Raliat Elelu-Habeeb     Valsolar Consultoria     Nnazua     Abubakar Aliagan     Bello Taoheed Abubakar     Ilorin     Sarakite     Mohammed Abdulahi     Ohoro Of Shao     Saidu Kawu     Ogbondoroko     Mohammed Katsina Ahmed     Obuh     Henry Olaosebikan     Vasolar Consortium     Diagnostic Centre     Ali Ahmad     Olokoba     GRA     IPSAS     Hamza Usman     VADA     Bamidele Adegoke     Abdulkadir Akanbi-Oke     Abdulhakeem Amao     Maryam A. Garuba     Aro Yahaya     Gwanara     V.O. Abioye     Emir Of Kano     Arca Santa     Aisha Abodunrin Ibrahim     Dankaka     Yomi Adeboye     Bolaji Nagode     Amos Justus Sayo     Yusuf Abdulraheem     Alabere     Yahaya A Paniyaro     Lawyers Unite Against Corruption     Charles Ibitoye     Buari Edun     Oko     Offa Poly     Alfa Modibo Belgore     Ministry Of Women Affairs And Social Development     Joseph Offorjama     Yeketi     Oyawoye     Oye Tinuoye     Gobir     Kayode Issa     EFCC     NIPR     Modibo Kawu     Bashiru Makama     Yusuf A. Usman     Segun Adeniyi     GANZY     Micheal Imodu-Ganmo Road     AIT Ilorin     Abdulahi Abubakar Bata     Wale Oladepo     N-Power     Mohammed Haruna     Ilorin.Info     Abdullahi Biffo     MMWG     Alagbado     Tunji Oyawoye     Saad Omo\'ya     Ajayi Okasanmi     Omoniyi M. Ayinla    

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Afolabi-Oshatimehin     National Association Of Nigerian Students     Akeem Olatunji     Femtech     Gobirawa     Irepodun     KSIRS     Hausa     Saidu Yaro Musa     Iliasu     Ibrahim Abduquadri Abikan     Awili Pedro     Asa     Hassan Abdulazeez Elewu     Share-Tsaragi     Kale Belgore     Mohammed Haruna     Sunday Otokiti     Akume     Moshood Mustapha     Abdulrazaq Akorede     Sola Saraki Educational Foundation     Fatai Olodo     Jawondo     Musa Ayinla Yeketi     Ibrahim Abiodun     Emir Of Ilorin     Aso Ofi     Saka Saadu     Bayo Ajia     Kayode Yusuf     Volunteers Of Ilorin Community And The Emirate     Bankole Omishore     Ajibike Katibi     Sarafadeen Kayode Akorede     Bature Bello     Okedare     IFK     Kunle Suleiman     Joseph Offorjama     Amuda Aluko     Ohoro Of Shao     Isin     Suleiman Rotimi Iliasu     Yakub Lai Gobir     Bureau Of Lands     Sulyman Abdulkareem     Oye Tinuoye     Muhammadu Gobir     Ilorin East/South Federal Constituency     Aliyu Salihu     Sarakite     Olaosebikan     Unilorin     Ilorin Durbar     Oko Erin     Abubakar Baba Sulaiman     Oyin-Zubair     Ibrahim Agboola Gambari     Leke Ogungbe     Olohungbebe     Ilorin Airport     Bilikisu Gambari     Habeeb Saidu     Jimoh Akani     Labaeka     Alabere     Vasolar-Kwara Company Ltd     State Bureau Of Internal Revenue     Mohammed Abdulahi     Presidential Election     Towobola Abdulrahman Toyin     Akom Construction And Engineering Synergy Ltd     Yeketi     Ayeni     Danladi     Alapado