Pandemonium As Kwara D/Gov Scampers At NIPOGA Closing Ceremony

Date: 2020-02-16

The Deputy Governor of Kwara, Mr Kayode Alabi, was on Saturday whisked away by security operatives when players (students) of Nuhu Bamali Polytechnic, Zaria, following a pandemonium at the closing ceremony of this year's NIPOGA in Ilorin.

Spectators and other delegates scampered for safety when the Zaria contingent attacked match officials after the final whistle of the football event, prompting a harsh reaction from the host Kwara State Polytechnic students.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the final was between Kwara State Polytechnic and Nuhu Bamali Polytechnic, Zaria, which the host won 1-0.

However, pandemonium started the players attacked the central referee, Adeola Salami, in the process, prompting Kwara State Polytechnic students to react with throwing of dangerous objects into the pitch after a failed attempt to gain access onto the field.

With the issue growing beyond the security operatives present for the closing ceremony, the deputy governor (Alabi) hurriedly left the scene with the help of his security aides.

NAN gathered that the central referee lost one of his watches and whistle during the assault on him, but he sustained no injuries.

The Nuhu Bamali Polytechnic students had protested the goal scored by the hosts in the 68th minute, before their reaction after the final whistle.

Reacting to the development, Mr Lekan Ogunmodede, a member of the Protest and Disciplinary for the games representing the Rector of Rufus Giwa Polytechnic, Owo, Ondo State, said such violence by the Nuhu Bamali Polytechnic students was not allowed.

He assured that the committee would handle the matter effectively without letting any of the culprits go unpunished.

Ogunmodede explained that immediately the fracas began, he approached the Rector of Kwara State Polytechnic to calm his students down and not to take laws into their hands.



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Orisun Igbomina     Yusuf Amuda Gobir     Isaac Aderemi Kolawole     Alfa Modibo Belgore     Post-utme     Mohammed Katsina Ahmed     Illyasu Abdullahi     Esuwoye     Mahmud Durosinlohun Atiku     Amusement Park     Ayo Opadokun     Onilorin Of Ilorin     Kayode Alabi     Ahmad Ali     Mahmud Ajeigbe     Yusuf Lawal     Emmanuel Bello     Taofik Abdulkareem Babaita     Mamatu Abdullahi     Royal FM     Valsolar     Jaiz Bank     Kayode Ibrahim     School Of Nursing     Gobirawa     Ganmo     James Kolo     Kale Bayero     Saad Omo'ya     Lawyers Unite Against Corruption     Saba Jibril     Sunday Fagbemi     Sobi Specialist Hospital     Baba Isale     Jamiu Oyawoye     COEASU     Abdulsalam A. Yusuf     Demola Banu     Aishat Sulu-Gambari     Usman Rifun     Akume     Alikinla     Lanre Aremu     NTA Ilorin     Suleiman Idris     Ramadan     Tunde Akanbi     Abdulwahab Oba     Amuda Musbau     Emir Of Ilorin     Kwara State Polytechnic     Isiaka Saka Opobiyi     Mohammed Abduraheem     Musa Abdullahi     Ajeigbe     Lanwa     Arinola Lawal     Femi Ogunsola     Gbemi Saraki     Sango-UITH Road     Ayedun     Kwara North     Olohungbebe     Yusuf Aiyedun     Kulende-UITH     Senate President     Bola Iyabo Ibiyeye Adisa     Shaaba Lafiagi     Sola Saraki Educational Foundation     Patigi Regatta     Yahaya A Paniyaro     Guber Aspirant     Alabi Lawal     Balogun Gambari     Ajikobi     Christopher Ayeni     Yusuf Olaolu Ali