$18m Devt Grant: Kwara Meets World Bank

Date: 2019-12-01
Kwara State government officials have met with a delegation of the Independent Verification Agents (IVAs) as part of a competitive bid to access $18m grant from the World Bank to fix infrastructural deficit.

Chairman of Kwara's Steering Committee of the State Fiscal Transparency, Accountability and Sustainability for Result (SFTAS), AbdulAzeez Oyelowo said the IVA team was visiting to check the state's compliance with the criteria required for any state to be given the grants.

Governor Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq had earlier constituted the steering committee ahead of the meeting with the World Bank's IVA to make a strong case for Kwara as it continually meets all the requirements.

Oyelowo, who is the permanent secretary of the Ministry of Planning, said Kwara has satisfied the first criteria which includes ensuring transparency and accountability, added that the project begun since 2018 and would continue until 2021 even though only qualified states would get the grants.

"The federal government secured a loan of $750 million from the World Bank, out of which $700million is for states that are performing in terms of ensuring fiscal responsibility, transparency and good governance at the subnational level," he said.

He added, "In accessing this, they came up with certain criteria for state to qualify for assessment. Apart from two eligibility criteria states must meet in the first place, there are other indicators that serve as parameters on which each state will be assessed. The first criterion any interested state must meet is to publish its annual budget online on or before February of the year.

"Secondly, the audited financial statement must be ready on or before September of the following year. Kwara State met these two criteria. So, the IVAs are here to assess the nine indicators ranging from budget reliability, improved Internally generated revenue, and other parameters of good governance."

Kwara is entitled to a maximum $18m of the $700m grant.

Kwara State Internal Revenue Service chairman, Folashade Omoniyi said the IVA's visit was to evaluate the state of the 2018 SFTAS exercise, a development she noted will help them improve on the result in the fiscal year.

Adeagbo Ademola, the head of the IVAs team from the office of the auditor general of the federation, said Kwara is one of the states that have excelled in the first stage of assessment and that the visit was to assess its continuous performance on other key indicators.

"The state, after meeting all the criteria at the end of the exercise, will get its money released between February and March next year," he added.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Tanke     Yakubu Danladi     Yusuf Abubakar     Matthew Babaoye     Esinrogunjo     Onilu     Odolaye Aremu     Dauda Adeniran Adeshola     NaAllah     Segun Olawoyin     Ramadan     Tunde Oyawoye     Bola Sagaya     Kwara North     Ayotunde Emmanuel Alao     Ahmed 'Lateef     Muslim Media Watch Group Of Nigeria     Moro     Ajeigbe     Ayodele Kuburat Olaosebikan     Aiyedun     Kayode Oyin-Zubair     Ajidagba     KSIRS     CCT     Yusuf Babatunde Abdulwahab     Bisi Kristien     Yakubu Dogara     Makama     Kwara State Internal Revenue Service     Ayodele Olaosebikan     Okiki     Abubakar B.M     Students Union Government     Kunbi Titiloye     Ibrahim Oniye     Unilorin FM     Saka Keji     State Bureau Of Internal Revenue     National Pilot     Quareeb Islamic Association     Olusola Saraki     Aremu Bose Deborah     Idi-Ape     Bahago     Saka Abimbola Isau     Albert Ogunsola     Savannah Centre For Diplomacy, Democracy And Development     Balogun-Ojomu     Amusement Park     Lanre Issa Onilu     Raimi Iyanda     Mohammed Tunde-Jimoh     Aminat Omodara     Mustapha Olanipekun     Bamikole Omishore     Na'Allah     Post-utme     Wasiu Odewale     Atunwa     Khadijat Ayoola Yusuf     Idris Garuba     Share/Tsaragi     Abdullahi Adisa Akodudu     Forgo Battery Company Limited     Moji Makanjuola     Mohammed Haruna     Ali Ahmad     Alabe     Ibrahim Issa Jetti     Tayo Alao     Yoruba     Mufutau Gbadamosi Esuwoye     Akorede     Akume     Emmanuel Bello     Ezekiel Yissa Benjamin