Accolades as AbdulRazaq wins another first in Kwara

Date: 2019-06-04
Easygoing Kwara State Governor Abdulrahman AbdulRazaq won another first on Tuesday, arriving the Eid prayer ground nearly one hour before the Emir of Ilorin.

Government House sources said AbdulRazaq's action was a first in the recent political history of Kwara State where his predecessors always arrived the Eid long after the emir and the Imam had been seated.

"He considers himself first and foremost a worshipper who had come to pray behind not just the Imam but also the Emir who is the leader of the faithfuls," according to one of the sources.

"That singular action has gone down in history as a deliberate effort to restore the Islamic tradition of not keeping the religious leaders, especially the emir, waiting at such gatherings."

AbdulRazaq arrived the mosque at least one hour before the prayer commenced, patiently listening to various recitations of the Qur'an and eulogy of the Prophet -- a feature of Eid prayers in Ilorin and other Islamic centres.

Many worshippers said the Governor's action was a "very laudable first" as late arrivals of his predecessors had always disrupted the religious gathering owing to heavy security operatives who would have to get the governor through thousands of worshippers.

"We hope to see the governor continue this humble practice. People prayed without being molested. For the first time, people listened to all the recitations without having them disrupted by chaotic arrival of their Governor as was the case in the past," Saheed Mustapha, a worshipper, said.

"He behaved like a typical well-behaved person. It is really a sweet departure from the ugly past which made many people to dislike his predecessors. This is because their late arrivals on account of some protocols always disrupted our programmes."



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Garba Ayodele Wahab     Bilikisu Gambari     Malete     Abdulrazak Shehu Akorede     Sebastine Obasi     Tsaragi-Share     Elelu     Salihu Alhaji Musa     Ishola Balogun Fulani     Kazeem Adekanye     Adebara     Reuben Paraje     Oba Abu     Kaiama     Salihu Yahaya     Sunday Fagbemi     Kwara Hotel     Bio Ibrahim     Abubakar B.M     Logun     Code Of Conduct Bureau     Ramat Oganija     Mohammed Yisa     Muftau Akanbi Oke     Wasiu Odewale     Shao     Abdulsalam A. Yusuf     Abdulfatai Baakini     Osi     Folashade Omoniyi     Saka Adeyemo     Abdullahi Imam Abdullahi     Suleman Abubakar     Magaji Are     Ndakene     Allocation     CCB     Bashirat Bola Bello     Christopher Odetunde     Yusuf Abdulwahab     Aisha Buhari     Yakubu Dogara     Tafida Of Kaiama     Yusuf Olaolu Ali     Kwara United     Olatunji Moronfoye     Tunji Olawuyi     Soffiyyallah Kamaldeen     Olusegun Adeniyi     KWSIEC     20 Billion Bond     Transition Implementation Committee     Abdulraufu Mustapha     Kwara State Governor     Abdulkadir Akanbi-Oke     Muyiwa Oladipo Kanu     Atunwa     Quran     Amosa     Aisha Abodunrin Ibrahim     Kisira     Alikinla     David Adesina     Diagnostic Centre     Kwabes     Ahmad Ali     Muhammadu Buhari     Valsolar Consultoria     Amuda Bembe     High Court     Abdullahi G. Mohammad     Ajase-Ipo     Innocent Okoye     Hassan Oyeleke     Kwara Apc     Raimi Iyanda     Gwanara