Ilorin locked down for Abdulrazak, Buhari

Date: 2019-01-11

Ilorin, the capital of Kwara state was in a virtual lockdown Thursday as thousands of All Progressives Congress (APC) members and supporters joined the governorship candidate, Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq, to mobilise voters ahead of the general elections.

University of Ilorin Teaching Hospital During the rally, thousands of residents lined the streets and rode in a long motorcade and heavy trucks to convey the APC campaigners amid shouts of "O To Ge' (Enough Is Enough), the party"s campaign slogan in the state. The rally was also dominated by shouts of 'Sai Buhari'. The campaign train took off from Fate end of the state capital and criss-crossed the densely populated areas, like Pata Market, Gambari, Okelele, Abayawo, Omoda and peaked at Pakata, where the party's candidates took turns to address the masses.

"We are committed to end the tyranny in our state. O To Ge! We will ensure workers are paid their dues at the right time. A government that cannot account for trillions of naira of public funds cannot expect to be trusted again," Abdulrazaq told the rally

The APC candidate also laughed off a recent claim by Senate President Bukola Saraki that APC planned to make Kwara a part of the Southwest.

He dismissed the claim as the antic of drowning politicians hanging on a straw.

"If West means Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, but Bukola took Kwara to the West in 2015 when Asiwaju Tinubu was leader of the APC," Abdulrazaq said.

He added: "Their desperate attempt to incite the public against us has failed. Every student of history understands the role my father, A. G. F. Abdulrazaq (SAN), played in 1955 to convince the Willinks Commission on Minorities that Ilorin belonged to the Northern Region. Where was Saraki in those years? Where is his sense of history?"




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Abdullahi Saadudeen Alikinla     Ishak Mohammed Sabi     Aishat Sulu-Gambari     Towobola Abdulrahman Toyin     Amuda Musbau     Ahmed Idris Mohammed     Ilorin East/South Federal Constituency     Taofik Mustapha     Hamza Usman     Mufutau Gbadamosi Esuwoye     Salihu Yahaya     Sheriff Olanrewaju     Mohammed Khadijat Kubura     Kayode Ibrahim     Alfa Modibo Belgore     Jimoh Lambe Abdulkareem     Police Commissioner     Ilorin South     Ishola Abdullahi     Ibrahim Abduquadri Abikan     Guber Aspirant     Alagbado     Transition Implementation Committee     Ayeni     Popo-Igbonna     Babaita     BIR     Ibrahim Bio     Ishaq Salman     Saka Abimbola Isau     Mohammed Yisa     Elections     Abdulkadir Akanbi-Oke     Abdulwahab Oba     Muritala Awodun     Amina Susa'a De Ahmed     Kwara State Coalition Of Business And Professional Associations     Ayegbeni     Clara Nwachukwu     Monsurat Omotosho     COEASU     Bolakale Ayo     Local Government     Henry Makinwa     Ubandawaki     Aro Yahaya     Garuba Alikinla Shittu     Amuda Bembe     Sola Saraki Educational Foundation     Abiodun Jacob Ajiboye     Idris Garba     Kwara State Infrastructure Development Fund     Abiodun Abdulkareem     Saraki     Kwara Poly     Oja-Oba     Taibat Ayinke Ahmed     Oba Sulaiman Asude     Bureau Of Lands     Shehu Jimoh     Kwara Restoration Project     Adijat Adebiyi     Minister     Saka Saadu     Salman Alada     Eleyele     Toyin Saraki     A.E. Afolabi     Adebayo Salami     CCB     Abdulrahman Iliasu     Abdulkadri Ahmad Alaiye     Ashiru     Tope Daramola     Code Of Conduct