World AIDS Day: Medical practitioner offers free test in Kwara

Date: 2018-12-02

Dr Ayodele Ogunkeyede, the Chief Medical Director (CMD) of Lifeline Hospital, Ilorin, has offered free tests and organised campaigns to sensitise people on the need to know their HIV/AIDS status.

The campaign; tagged 'a Walk for Life', was in commemoration of World AIDS Day in Kwara. Ogunkeyede told newsmen on Saturday in Ilorin during the campaign that it was necessary for private hospitals in Nigeria to complement government efforts in the fight against HIV/AIDS in the country.

He explained that World AIDS day is a key opportunity to raise awareness about HIV and AIDS, commemorate those who have lost their lives and celebrate victories such as increased access to treatment and preventive services. The medical expert said noted that about 37.5 million people are living with the disease globally, adding however that there is no adequate data to show current figure for HIV/AIDS positive people in the country.

According to him, the 2018 World AIDS Day theme is: "Know your status," which he said was apt, because there is need for people to get tested and know their status. Ogunkeyede observed that people are afraid to get tested because of the stigma attached to HIV/AIDS and warned that the number of carriers in the country is steadily increasing.

While warning that those with the condition and remained silent are in danger of dying, he however assured that with quick medical intervention, people with the condition could live for many years.

The medical practitioner therefore appealed to government at all levels to do more on the fight against HIV/AIDS in Nigeria.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the campaign procession, which included school children, medical practitioners and youths, started from Ipata market to Tanke University road in Ilorin metropolis.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Ayotunde Emmanuel Alao     Dogara     Opobiyi     Abdulraheem Olesin     Rafiu Ibrahim     Charles Ibitoye     Taofik Mustapha     Jimoh Lambe Abdulkareem     Olayinka Olaogun     Onilorin Of Ilorin     Arandun     Osi     Mustapha Olanipekun     Abegunde Goke     Jimba Babatunde     Mohammed Katsina Ahmed     Ilorin International Airport     Abdulazeez Uthman     Salihu Ajia     Rapheal Ashaolu     Sarakite     Oyun     Micheal Imoudu     Shehu Salau     Gbenga Awoyale     Balogun Fulani     AIT Ilorin     Salihu Yahaya     Apaokagi     Kayode Issa     Balogun Ajikobi     Anilelerin     Obuh     Moses Afolayan     Shuaib Abdulkadir     Dairo Kunle Paul     Kawu     Oke-opin     Jalala     Baboko     Michael Ologundea     Oluwole Dupe     Ahmed     Tope Daramola     Bilikisu Gambari     Agboola Babatunde     Abubakar Olusola Saraki     Nurudeen Mohammed     Abdulrahman Iliasu     Saadu Gbogbo Iwe     Hamza Usman     Taofik Abdulkareem Babaita     Cornelius Adebayo     Saidu Yaro Musa     IQRA College     Alfa Modibo Belgore     Sheikh Alimi     Fulani     Muideen Olaniyi Alalade     COEASU     CCB     Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq     Oniwasi Agbaye     Aliyu Salihu     Ahmed Bayero     Adamu B. Yaqubu     Isau     Oba Abdulkadir La'aro     Tunji Moronfoye     Firdaos Amasa     Afonja Descendants Union     Orisun Igbomino     Kayode Zubair     Sidikat Uthman Ajibola     Temitope Ogunbanke     Clara Nwachukwu     Idiagbon