CCT: FG disburses N2bn to indigent people in Kwara

Date: 2018-10-11

Federal Government says it has disbursed about N2 billion to more than 14, 000 poor people in Kwara since 2016 under its National Cash Transfer (CCT) programme.

Hajia Aminah Yahaya, the Unit Head of the programme in Kwara, Said this on Wednesday in Ilorin at a stakeholders' meeting on Co-Responsibility Selection. Gov Ahmed approves employment of 1,850 teachers Yahaya explained that the scheme, which started in Kwara two years ago, had beneficiaries across the 16 local government councils of the state.

According to her, the beneficiaries from Offa were able to save N15 million out of what people would describe as meagre, which had been disbursed for the businesses.

She said that Kwara was among the first eight pilot states of the cash transfer programme. On the Co-Responsibility Programme, she explained it was a top up programme to the existing cash transfer to be assisted by the World Bank. She said that beneficiaries of the top up cash transfer would receive N5, 000 monthly, but linked it to the participation in activities focused on human capital development. In her presentation, Mrs Temitope Sinkaiye, the National Coordinator of the National Conditional Cash Transfer, said that programme was to address challenges and deficiencies of the conditional cash transfer. Presidential Primaries : Rivers APC members vote for Buhari's candidacy "Conditional Cash Transfer supports the poor and vulnerable to improve consumption and develop savings skills. "The overall objectives is aimed at reducing poverty, preventing the vulnerable households from falling further down the poverty line and building their resilience to withstand shocks.

"Top-up Cash transfer incorporates benefits linked to the participation of selected households in activities focused on human capital development and sustainable environment through adherence to specified conditionality known as co-responsibility", she said.

She said that Kwara was expected to pick one of the co-responsibility areas which were Health, Education, Nutrition and Environment. According to her, beneficiaries of the top-up will be required to fulfill certain co-responsibility as part of efforts to address the identified challenges.

"The co-responsibility shall be state specific, tailored to the deficiencies and capacities in each state.

"Each state shall depend on their conditions and priorities, choose their co-responsibility area," she explained.

She added that the programme would ensure increase in children school enrolment and attendance, improve child nutrition, address environmental hazards to improve productive assets and improve utilization of health facilities for ante and post-natal care with child immunization.

She said that the beneficiaries would be trained to build their capacities for enhanced quality of life and also ensure that they made use of services and facilities available to bring about change in behaviour in the area of concern. NAN



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Saka Isau     Jimoh Akani     Transition Implementation Committee     Share/Tsaragi     Amosa     Ilofa     Asa     John Dara     Millennium Development Goals     The Herald     Elekoyangan     Umar Sanda Yusuf     Mustapha Akanbi     Government House     Ibrahim Oniye     Jaiz Bank     Bilikis Oladimeji     Ayotunde Emmanuel Alao     Ilesha-Baruba     Sadiq Umar     Saka Saadu     Balogun Fulani     State Bureau Of Internal Revenue     Biliaminu Aliu     Olokoba     Muhammadu Buhari     Lanre Aremu     Daud Adeshola     Florence Saraki     Lai Mohammed     Simeon Ajibola     Amos Sayo     Laolu Saraki     Tunji Arosanyin     Kamaldeen Ajibade     Rex Olawoye     Tayo Alao     Micheal Imodu-Ganmo Road     Bola Shagaya     Sherif Shagaya     Ajayi Okasanmi     Lafiagi     Busari Alabi Alausa     Iqra Books     Ajasse-Ipo     Igbomina     CCT     Bashiru Makama     Abdulfatai Salman Baakini     Jaigbade Alao     Ganmo     Kwarareports     Hausa     Veterinary Teaching Hospital     Oke-Ero     Amasa     Oni Adebayo     Afonja     KWSIEC     Kannike     Durosinlohun Atiku     Oke-Odo     Kayode Alabi     Ijagbo     Abdulrazaq Adebayo     Kwara Pdp     Adegoke Bamidele     Ayinde Oyepitan     Ilorin Muslim Community     AGF Abdulrazak     Ibrahim Issa Jetti     Basit Olatunji     Mamatu Abdullahi     Ahmed Bayero     Bello Bature     QuickWin     John Mayokun Dada