Kwara Govt Establishes Farm Produce Commodity Board

Date: 2018-01-11

The Kwara State Government has approved the establishment of a Farm Produce Commodity Board (FPCB) to address scarcity of essential commodities and stem inflation in the State.

This was part of the resolutions reached at the State Executive Council meeting held at the Government House in Ilorin on Wednesday.

Addressing journalists after the meeting, the State Commissioner for Information and Communication, Alhaji Mahmud Ajeigbe noted that the board, which would be private sector driven is aimed at also boosting commodity produce of the State in area of marketing and control.

He explained that the board will complement the efforts of the Off-taker Demand Driven Agriculture (ODDA) scheme and other agricultural schemes of the state government.

Ajeigbe added that the re-introduction of private-driven farm produce commodity board would help promote the agriculture business in the State, and noted that the board was revamped along current realities.

In addition, the Commissioner disclosed that the State Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Barrister Kamaldeen Ajibade will forward an executive bill to the State House of Assembly for the formal establishment of the Board.

Similarly, Ajeigbe said the council has approved the implementation of the Kwara State Monitoring and Evaluation policy, adding that the policy will henceforth be embedded in programmes and activities of the various Ministries, Departments and Agencies in the State.

He stated that the State Ministry of Planning and Economic Development is charged with the implementation of the policy and will also carry out regular review of the programmes.



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Abdulkadir Orire     Oba Of Jebba     Sulyman Buhari     Babatunde Idiagbon     Centre For Peace And Strategic Studies     Al-Ilory     Baba-Isale     Lai Gobir     Kwara Coalition Of Business And Professional Associations     Isiaka Yusuf     Shao     Abdulfatah Ahmed     Igbomina     Y.A. Abdulkareem     Henry Makinwa     School Of Nursing     Ibrahim Abdullahi     Sobi Specialist Hospital     Ilota     Asa     Kwara Apc     Abubakar Suleiman     Abdulhakeem Amao     Kulende     Federal Allocation     Moji Makanjuola     Alloy Chukwuemeka     Cassava Growers' Association     Tsaragi-Share     Monkey Pox     Abdulwahab Oba     Modibo Kawu     Gabriel Fashanu     Valsolar-Kwara Company Limited     Garba Ayodele Wahab     Babaita     Sunday Otokiti     Garba Ado Sanni     Council Of The Wise     Akeem Lawal     Mufti Of Ilorin     Abiodun Jacob Ajiboye     Yinka Aluko     Ajeigbe     Baba Isale     College Of Arabic And Islamic Legal Studies     Towobola Abdulrahman Toyin     Illyasu Abdullahi     Simeon Sule Ajibola     Mustapha AbdulGaniyu     Abdullahi Adisa Akodudu     Olaitan Adefila     Idiagbon     UITH     Tope Daramola     Abdulganiyu Oladosu     Yeketi     Eleyele     Olatunde Olukoya     Sherif Shagaya     Adesoye     Labaeka     Akorede     Yahaya Abdulkareem     Ayodele Kuburat Olaosebikan     Yusuf Babatunde Abdulwahab     College Of Education     Oniyangi     Bond     Kulende-UITH     Unilorin     Abdullahi Atanda     Adamu Atta     International Vocational Centre     Ahmed     Bukola Saraki