Kwara 2020 budget will address infrastructure, human capital devt. Govt.

Date: 2020-02-09
The Kwara State Government said on Saturday that its recently passed 2020 budget would address challenges associated with infrastructure and human capital development across the State.

Gov. Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq said this while speaking at the 50th anniversary of Central Secondary School, Osi, in the Ekiti Local Government Area of the State.

Abdulrazaq, represented by the Commissioner for Finance, Mrs Olasumbo Florence, said 19 per cent of the budgetary allocation was for the education sector.

He said the bulk of the said allocation was meant for basic education.

According to him, our dream is to meet the UNESCO threshold in the coming years.

He said the budget was also set out to support community development, especially home grown enterprises, empowerment for different categories of the people, roads, and basic healthcare system.

Abdulrazaq applauded the laudable efforts of the Old Students Association of the school saying his administration would not hesitate in appreciating various stakeholders who were doing their best to help the system.

He called for stakeholders' synergy to curb examination malpractice in schools in various communities.

"The 2020 budget, which I have just assented to, has been designed to address the questions of human capital and infrastructure in our state.

"Our government will partner all stakeholders to tackle various developmental challenges confronting our communities," he said.

Prince Adams Asasofegbe, President, Osi Central Secondary School Old Boys Association, in his remarks, said the association had so far expended over N8 million on various projects in the school.

He listed part of the projects to include renovation of a block of two classrooms, the school entrance gate, donation of books as well as the construction of a modern latrine.

Asasofegbe charged members of the association to redouble their efforts toward rebuilding and reinvigorating the school morally and academically.

He said the association would not relent in doing its best possible in bringing back the school's past glory in all ramifications.

Oba Solihu Adasofegbe, the traditional ruler of Osi , applauded the association for its magnanimity, dedication and foresight.

He pledged the continued support of the traditional institution in the area toward ensuring the desired growth, progress and socioeconomic development.

News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that no fewer than 48 distinguished personalities received merit awards for their contributions toward the development of the community.

Among them 23 were posthumously honoured at the occasion also organised for the launching of a N50 million developmental project for the community.

Some of the awardees included Rtd. Vice Admiral and Mrs S.O Afolayan, Maj-Gen. A. A. Atofarati (Rtd), Oba Solihu Adasofegbe, Mr Gabriel Adewumi, Ms Felicia Owolabi and Chief Samuel Baale.

Those posthumously honoured included Late Oba Ezekiel Afolayan, Chief James Owolabi, Alhaji Usman Atofarati, Johnson Bello, Chief Adebayo Afoloke, among others.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Charles Ibitoye     March 28     Mahmud Ajeigbe     Bio Ibrahim     Nurudeen Muhammed     Oloje     Maigida     Goodluck Jonathan     Oye Tinuoye     Oniyangi Kunle Sulaiman     Adamu Attah     Simeon Sule Ajibola     Gurei     Bola Iyabo Ibiyeye Adisa     Agboola Abdulraheem     Quran     Durosinlohun Atiku     Titus Suberu-Ajibola     Oniyangi     Labaeka     Metro Park     Iqra Books     Amoyo     Yinka Aluko     Offa     Wahab Agbaje     Oba Abu     JAMB     Aminu Adisa Logun     Jaiz Bank     Kwara State Government     Gbemi Saraki     Allocation     Abdulkadir Remi Hawawu     Segun Adeniyi     Mohammed Katsina Ahmed     08001000100     Isiaka Gold     Abdulrasheed Na'Allah     Wole Oke     Patience Jonathan     Lanre Issa-Onilu     Muhammad Yahya     Dauda Adeniran Adeshola     Mahmud Babatunde Baker     Saka Asiat Ayinke     Sarakite     Funmilayo Zubair     Abdulsalam A. Yusuf     GANZY     Yusuf Abubakar     Valsolar Consultoria     Makama Of Ilorin     Egbejila     Roseline Oni Aremu     Salami Adekunle     College Of Health     COEASU     Ramadan     Hijab     Gbenga Olawepo     Omu-aran     Erin-ile     Dele Belgore     Oloriegbe     Saba Jibril     Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq     Ramat Oganija     Oyeyemi Olasumbo Florence     Savannah Centre For Diplomacy, Democracy And Development     Kunbi Titiloye     Rex Olawoye     Amuda Musbau     Agbarere     Haliru Dantoro     Usman Rifun     Aliyu Olatunji Ajanaku