"O To Ge": Rep remembers five deceased Kwara APC members

Date: 2019-11-18

The member representing Ekiti/Irepodun/Isin/Oke-Ero Federal Constituency in the House of Representatives, Raheem Olawuyi, says his election victory has caused a new culture of good governance across the length and breadth of the state.

Mr Olawuyi said in a statement in Omu-Aran on Sunday to commemorate the one-year anniversary of the "O to ge" struggle to herald a new direction of a decent society across Kwara state.

The lawmaker dedicated the anniversary celebration to the five members of All Progressive Congress (APC) who lost their lives during the struggle.

The five deceased APC members were Femi Olaoye (Oko Ward), Segun Adewara (Omu-Aran ward), Folake Awolowo (Arandun ward), Adebanjo Adekeye (Ajase ward 2) and Isa Bakare (Odo-Owa ward).

They died in a ghastly motor accident along Omu-Aran-Oke-Onigbin road, a day after the party’s victory in 2018.

Mr Olawuyi said "for decades, Kwarans have yearned for a genuine independent expression of their collective political desire, unhinged by any act of totalitarianism, manipulation and manacling."

"That day was their first experience of the accomplishment of this desire."

"The mandate freely and overwhelmingly given to me and our party on November 17, 2018 represented the beginning of a newly birthed Kwara that is people-owned and people-driven.

"No more shall one individual, in the name of a dynastic hegemony, holds the lives and destinies of millions of others to ransom.

"The campaign that took place in the two weeks and the eventual victory at the polls was a symbolic gesture that the people of Kwara will no longer accept the top-to-down approach in matters affecting their destinies.

"They took control, unified in a volunteering venture unprecedented in Nigeria's modern political history.

"While the status-quo political establishment relied on a well state-funded, logistics-based electoral stratagem, we relied on the steam of the goodwill of our people.

"I am, as I was exactly one year ago, humbled by the awe inspiring resolve of our esteemed people from all axis of Kwara.

"The commune that was experienced on this day one year ago set the tone of the solidarity that swept the unprogressive authoritarian political dynasty away in the main general elections that followed early in 2019."

Mr Olawuyi, who prayed for the repose of the deceased, also praised the dodgedness and commitment of some party leaders Like Lai Mohammed and Governor Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq.

He called on party members, leaders and officials to see the victory as a wake-up call to service by promoting a governance culture that will provide decent lives and livelihoods to all categories of the citizenry.

"As we remember the victory of November 17, 2018, and the many memorable events it heralded, we must also be conscious of the future that we must confront.

"All those that have been saddled with public trust, working in concert with our esteemed peoples must not lose focus of the sole objective of the change we clamoured for," Mr Olawuyi said.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Code Of Conduct Tribunal     Aliyu Olatunji Ajanaku     Ramadhan     Kwara Apc     Muhammad Yahya     Alloy Chukwuemeka     Funmi Salau     Fatai Olodo     Share/Tsaragi     Oloriegbe     Ilorin International Airport     Amoyo     Isau     Raliat Elelu-Habeeb     Labaeka     Olushola Saraki     Adebayo Salami     Kunle Suleiman     Chief Of Staff     Kwara Restoration Project     Abdulrahman Abdulrazak     Omoniyi Ayinla     Abiodun Abdulkareem     Sunday Otokiti     Apaola     Adebara     Abdulkadir Orire     Ilorin Metro Park     Metro Park     Radio Kwara     Lukman Adeloyin     Okedare     Khadijat Ayoola Yusuf     Presidential Election     Abdulbaqi Jimoh     Sebastine Obasi     Ahman Pategi     Elekoyangan     Bankole Omishore     Jebba     Ope Saraki     Oke-Kura     Esinrogunjo     Gobir     Jani Ibrahim     Magaji Are     Femi Gbajabiamila     Oba Sulaiman Asude     Mumeen Lah     Yusuf Abdulwahab     Abdulrazak Shehu Akorede     Afolabi-Oshatimehin Adenike Harriet     George Funsho Adebayo     Adamu B. Yaqubu     Gabriel Fashanu     Bukola Ajikobi     Ganmo     Bond     Iyiola Oyedepo     COEASU     Yusuf Babatunde Abdulwahab     Onilu     Ayegbeni     Oloyede     Split Diamond Interchange     Ilesha-Baruba-Gwanara     Oba Abdulraheem     Sola Saraki University     Garba Ayodele Wahab     Ramadan     Valsolar-Kwara Company Limited     Oju Ekun Sarumi     ARMTI     Salake     Charles Ibitoye     Kayode Zubair     Lola Ashiru