Flood hits four Kwara LGAs

Date: 2019-09-22

Four local government areas of Kwara State were on Wednesday night ravaged by flood, resulting from a downpour earlier in the evening.

Our correspondent gathered that valuables worth millions of naira were destroyed.

The rain started at about 5pm and lasted till around 9pm, causing untold hardship and losses to residents of the state capital.

Several acres of farmland and crops were also said to have been destroyed in communities such as Ipata-Jebba and Fangan in the Moro Local GovernmentArea; Belle, Bacita, Yalwa, Gbere and Fanagu.

Residents of Amilegbe, Omosebi, Cocacola and Offa Garage were also affected.

Also affected were business premises like the old KWACCIMA building on Unity Road, Omowunmi Cooperative Society building on Obbo Road, shops, residential houses, churches and mosques.

It was also gathered that many occupants of affected buildings along Obbo and Unity roads, Ilorin, stayed indoors till Thursday afternoon as water had enveloped their buildings, preventing them from going out.

Items destroyed by the flood included cars, food items, documents and electronic gadgets.

Some victims called on the state government to liaise with the Federal Government to find a lasting solution to the problem, lamenting that the flood had persisted because the channelisation project on Asa river was yet to be completed.

The Baale of Ipata-Jebba, Alhaji Aremu Adedoyin, who spoke when a Kwara State Government delegation visited the areas, said, "Flooding has become a yearly occurrence along the banks of Jebba River."




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Y.A. Abdulkareem     Mufti Of Ilorin     Abdullahi Atanda     Salman Alada     Computer Based Test     Moses Afolayan     Suleiman Abubakar     Jawondo     Elekoyangan     Laduba     Yakub Lai Gobir     Amoyo     Yusuf Abdulraheem     Tunde Saad     Kayode Alabi     Taofik Mustapha     Ramadan     Kwara State Government     Bashiru Makama     Balogun Gambari     Saad Omo Iya     UITH     Saadu Yusuf     Saka Abimbola Isau     Kehinde Baale     Kwasu     KWATMA     Jimoh Olusola Imam     Forgo Battery     Balogun Fulani     Allocation     Sulyman Buhari     Opobiyi     Lanre Issa-Onilu     Olaosebikan     Ajakaye     Abdulwahab Ololele     Owode Market     Agboola Babatunde     Omotosho     Oloye     Alagbado     Odo-Owa     Innocent Okoye     Sam Okaula     KWASIEC     Ndakene     Oni Adebayo     Logun     Tafidan Kaiama     Alao Ayotunde     Matthew Babaoye     IDPU     IEDPU     Ajidagba     Dumagi     Ilorin International Airport     Modibo Kawu     Razaq Atunwa     Kwara Polytechnic     Lawyers Unite Against Corruption     Olatunde Olukoya     UTME     Firdaos Amasa     Nupe     Wahab Agbaje     SGBN     Oba Abu     Amuda Aluko     Kayode Ibrahim     Folashade Omoniyi     LAK Jimoh     Aisha Ahman Pategi     Suleiman Ajadi     Fatai Olodo     Aiyedun     Ganmo