2019: Kwara North APC elders forum calls for power shift

Date: 2018-09-21

Political leaders and stakeholders of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Kwara state, under the aegis of the Kwara North APC Elders Forum, have said that it is turn of the zone to produce next governor of the state based on good conscience and justice.

Speaking with journalists in Ilorin, the leader of the group, Senator Mohammed Ahmed, said that the Kwara North senatorial district had not produced governor of the state 20 years after an uninterrupted democracy of the Fourth Republic.

The people, who said that the Kwara Central senatorial district had enjoyed three terms as governor (late Mohammed Lawal 1999-2003 and Dr. Bukola Saraki 2003-2011), added that the governorship slot should shift to Kwara North at the end of two terms of the present incumbent Governor Abdulfatah Ahmed from Kwara South senatorial district in 2019.

Kwara North APC Elders also described as worrisome high number of governorship aspirants from Kwara Central senatorial district in the 2019 governorship race, saying that the development "tends to make a mockery of our collective desire for order, fairness and justice".

The people said that the area had always produced about 80 per cent of votes that brought in past governors in previous elections, adding that the gesture should be reciprocated now that it is only Kwara North that is yet to produce a governor for the state.

"A majority of our people are now asking where is our common bond, culture and history that has always been professed", Senator Ahmed said, adding that, "Our traditional rulers, elder statesmen and youth organizations across the senatorial district are all on one page with us on this project. Every patriotic Kwara North citizen is asking for justice".

The people appealed to indigenes of Kwara Central and Kwara South senatorial districts to support their course, while also urging leaders of all political parties to adopt their position by presenting governorship candidates from the Kwara North senatorial district only.

Also, a Coalition of Kwara North Groups, an umbrella body of all organizations in the zone, has resolved to back all governorship aspirants from Kwara North senatorial district from, both the APC and PDP, in their aspiration to govern the state come 2019.

A statement signed by the leader of the group, Comrade Kolo Majin, and which was made available to journalists in Ilorin on Thursday, said that the group, on behalf of the traditional rulers, elders, women and youth in the area saw the aspirants as worthy and capable of leading the state to more prosperity.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Ekweremadu     General Hospital     Sherif Shagaya     Split Diamond Interchange     Ilorin.Info     Na'Allah     Lai Gobir     Abdulkadir Orire     Musibau Akanji     Ndakene     April 11     Mohammed Katsina Ahmed     Hameed Oladipupo Ali     Shagari     Olayinka Are     KWIRS     Onilu     Charles Ibitoye     Adamu Ibrahim Sabi     Abdulganiyu Oladosu     Sheriff Shagaya     Vasolar Consultoria     Tunde Yusuf     Aremu Odolaye     Alanamu     Kulende-UITH     Tayo Alao     UITH     Ahmed Alhasssan     Oasis Muslim Care Foundation     Ilota     Oniyangi     Chief Of Staff     Abdulahi Abubakar Bata     Pius Abioje     Isin     Matthew Babaoye     Anilelerin     Abikan     Abdullahi Atanda     Amos Sayo     Arandun     Bankole Omisore     Isapa     Simeon Ajibola     David Adesina     Odogun Olushola Gabriel     AGF Abdulrazak     Jaigbade Alao     Abdullahi Imam Abdullahi     Moshood Mustapha     Dele Belgore     Oniwa     Okeose Christian Cementary     Yusuf Olaolu Ali     Jimoh Saadudeen Muhammed     Isiaka Gold     Oba Abdulkadir La'aro     Raimi Iyanda     Taofik Mustapha     Abdulraheem Yusuf     Fulani     AbdulRauf Keji     Monsurat Omotosho     Radio Kwara     Tunde Oyawoye     National Pilot     Babatunde Ajeigbe     Kisira     IDPU     Alikinla     Ibrahim Abduquadri Abikan     Lanre Issa-Onilu     Ilorin     Ajayi Okasanmi     Valsolar Consultoria     Ilorin West