PDP raises alarm over illegal collection of PVCs in Kwara

Date: 2018-09-11

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Kwara State has raised alarm over alleged house-to-house collection of Permanent Voterís Cards (PVCs) by some staff members of a privately-owned radio station in the state.

The radio station, it was learnt, is owned by a governorship aspirant of one of the opposition parties in Kwara.

In a statement on Monday by the party's Publicity Secretary in the state, Mr Tunde Ashaolu, the PDP alleged that staff of the said radio station have been moving round houses in Ilorin, luring people to release their PVCs in exchange for loans.

The party said this move was aimed at using the collected PVCs to manipulate the outcome of the 2019 general elections in the state.

"As a party, we call on the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), the general public, security agencies, and relevant stakeholders to be aware and stand up against this dubious act orchestrated by opposition elements as it is capable of truncating our democracy."

The PDP also urged all Kwarans and residents of the state to resist every attempt by political opportunists and their agents to lure them into releasing their PVCs for pecuniary gains.

It also charged them to see their PVC as a tool to elect repsentatives of their choice, and should therefore not release it to anybody or group.

The party also warned politicians to stop alleged criminal and unauthorised collection of PVCs from the people, stressing that voters have the inalienable right to vote for candidates of their choice.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Kwara Apc     Ishak Mohammed Sabi     Yusuf Abdulkadir     Taofik Abdulkareem     Allocation     Olushola Saraki     Chemiroy Nigeria Limited     Yusuf A. Usman     Awodun     Agbarere     Mogaji Aare     Rotimi Atere     Shao     Isau     Sulyman Buhari     Mustapha Olanipekun     Muideen Olaniyi Alalade     Muftau Akanbi Oke     Mufutau Gbadamosi Esuwoye     Ilorin East/South Federal Constituency     Oko     Idyat Omolola Isiaq     Borgu     Offa Poly     Al-Adaby     Olatunji Ibrahim     Dogara     Kayode Yusuf     Abdul-Rasheed Na 'Allah     Council Of The Wise     Kanu Agabi     Taofik Abdulkareem Babaita     Najim Yaasin     Moses Adekanye     Idris Garba     Shonga Farm Project     Chief Of Staff     Adijat Adebiyi     Idofin     Sobi FM     Inside Kwara     Adamu Attah     Hameed Oladipupo Ali     Funmi Salau     AIT Ilorin     GANZY     National Pilot     Ilesha-Baruba-Gwanara     Ayo Salami     Olokoba Abdullahi Ayinla     Saliu Alamoyo     Yunus Lawal     Towobola Abdulrahman Toyin     Ilorin East     Jimba Babatunde     Geri-Alimi Split Diamond Interchange     Ohoro Of Shao     Durosinlohun Atiku     Hijab     Fatai Olodo     Eleja Taiwo Banu     Issa Oloruntogun     Goodluck Jonathan     Mohammed Lawal     COEASU     Alaiye     Haliru Yahaya     Photo News     Minister     Olokoba     AbdulGaniyu Kareem     Kwara United     Saka Onimago     Elekoyangan     Radio Kwara     Mustapha Akanbi     Mohammed Tunde-Jimoh