Ilorin court remands 11 Badoo members in prison

Date: 2017-10-20

Eleven accused, suspected to be fleeing members of the dreaded Badoo cult group from Lagos State, were yesterday remanded in prison on the orders of an Ilorin Magistrateís Court. The police First Information Report (FIR) on the case named the suspects as Bashiru Habeeb, Abdulrasaq Abudlfatai, Ridwan Ganiyu, Rilwan Abdulazeez and Isah Idowu. Others are; Muyideen Mahmud, Ibrahim Abdulgainyu, Sakariyau Moshood, Abubakar Isiaq, Abdulwahab Ibrahim and Yunus Mubarak.

The accused were brought before the court by the police on charges of criminal conspiracy, causing hurt and being members of secret cult, contrary to sections 97, 248, of Penal Code Law and Section 2 punishable under section 114 of the Secret Cult and Secret Society (Prohibition Law) 2014.

When the matter came up before Magistrate Ibitayo Olawoyin for mention yesterday, police prosecutor, Inspector Jubril Al-Hassan, prayed the court to remand the suspects in prison. He argued that police investigation on the matter was still ongoing, even as other members of the group are still at large.

However, Toyin Onaolapo, counsel for the 1st and 8th accused persons, as well as Ibrahim Olojoku, counsel for the 2nd, 3rd, 6th and 11th accused persons, prayed the court to grant their clients bail as they argued that the FIR has not established any case against them.

The counsels argued that their clients should be assumed innocent of all the offences levelled against them until proven otherwise. Magistrate Olawoyin, in his ruling, said the offences were not ordinarily bailable, hence his order that the accused be remanded in Mandela Federal Prison, while the case was adjourned to November, 3, 2017.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Omotosho     Share     Abiodun Jacob Ajiboye     Muslim Cementary     Bond     Segun Abifarin     Isiaka Oniwa     Agbarigidoma     TIC     Oke-Kura     Aishat Sulu-Gambari     Ayegbeni     Ibrahim Gambari     Modibo Kawu     Abdul-Rasheed Na'Allah     Senate     Adebayo Salami     Dele Momodu     Yusuf Amuda Gobir     Awili Pedro     Bankole Omisore     Cornelius Adebayo     Shonga     Salihu Alhaji Musa     Split Diamond Interchange     Ezekiel Yissa Benjamin     Chief Of Staff     Moro     Olusegun Adeniyi     Kudirat Arinola Lawal     Government House     Offa Poly     Kayode Ibrahim     Olateju Lukman     Alabi Lawal     Police Commissioner     Bayo Ajia     Photo News     Amosa     AGF Abdulrazak     Yusuf Abubakar     GRA     Adam Abdullahi Al-Ilory     Elekoyangan     Abdulraheem Yusuf     Christopher Ayeni     Sulyman Age AbdulKareem     General Hospital     Tanke     Kehinde Baale     Pius Abioje     Ifelodun     Simeon Ajibola     Alaiye     Ilorin Central Mosque     Oju Ekun Sarumi     Ahmed     Offa Descendants Union     Students Union Government     Esuwoye     CCB     Idiagbon     Alimi     Quran     Abdulrazaq Magaji     Local Government     Gabriel Fashanu     Bukola Saraki     Goodluck Jonathan     Babatunde Idiagbon     Council Of The Wise     Local Government Pension Board     Riskat Opakunle     Iyabo Adewuyi     Malete     Taofik Abdulkareem Babaita     Isaac Gbenle