WHO Supports the Immunization of 874 000 People Against Yellow Fever in Nigeria

Date: 2017-10-18

The Government of Nigeria has launched a campaign to immunize 873 837 people against yellow fever in the states of Kwara and Kogi.

The ten-day campaign began on Friday, 13 October 2017, and mobilizes more than 200 health workers and volunteers. It targets residents aged 9 months to 45 years old.

"This campaign aims to ensure that people living in high-risk areas are protected from yellow fever, and to prevent the disease from spreading to other parts of the country," said Dr. Wondimagegnehu Alemu, WHO Nigeria Representative.

WHO has been working with health authorities on its implementation in nine local government areas in Kwara State and two in Kogi State.

Nigeria has requested support from the International Coordination Group (ICG) on vaccine provision for yellow fever. A global stockpile of 6 million doses of the yellow fever vaccine is available for countries to access, with the support of Gavi, the Vaccine Alliance.

WHO and health partners have been supporting the Government's response to the outbreak since the first case of yellow fever was confirmed in Oke Owa Community, Ifelodun Local Government Area of Kwara state on 12 September.

WHO has deployed experts to Nigeria to support surveillance and investigation, lab testing, public health measures, and engagement with at-risk communities. An Emergency Operations Centre has been activated in the area to coordinate the response.

The last yellow fever outbreak in Nigeria was reported in 2002, with 20 cases and 11 deaths.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Ojuekun Sarumi     Lanre Aremu     Www.Kwarareports.com     Ijagbo Health Centre     Amosa     Adamu B. Yaqubu     Abdulmajeed Wahab     Garba Ayodele Wahab     Olaosebikan     Transition Implementation Committee     Ganmo     Centre For Peace And Strategic Studies     Borgu     Opobiyi     Adesoye     Taibat Ayinke Ahmed     Sabi     Royal FM     Mumeen Lah     Olokoba Abdullahi Ayinla     Alabi Lawal     Abdulhakeem Adelaja Amao     Mohammed Katsina Ahmed     Ilorin West     Split Diamond Interchange     Ahmed Alhasssan     Yusuf Aiyedun     Quran     Amuda Musbau     Hajj     Omupo     Adebayo Salami     Chief Of Staff     Elections     Rapheal Ashaolu     Abubakar Olusola Saraki     Abdulrazaq Magaji     Muritala Awodun     Esuwoye     Abdullahi Atanda     Idyat Omolola Isiaq     Lawal Arinola Kudirat     Daud Adeshola     Yusuf A. Usman     Cassava Growers' Association     Jaigbade Alao     Salman Alada     State Bureau Of Internal Revenue     Tsaragi     Olayinka Are     Idofin     Sebastine Obasi     Salake     Rex Olawoye     Obuh     Taofik Mustapha     Ahman Patigi     Mohammed Danjuma     Mustapha AbdulGaniyu     Kayode Oyin Zubair     Durosinlohun Kawu     ARMTI     Demola Banu     Afolayan     Vasolar     VADA     Rasaq Jimoh     Busari Alabi Alausa     Adamu Atta     Kudirat Arinola Lawal     Moshood Mustapha     Kwara Politics     Fatai Adeniyi Garba     Taiwo Joseph     IDPU     Agboola Babatunde     AGF Abdulrazak