Kwara traditional rulers to lose salaries

Date: 2017-09-20

Traditional rulers of Illofa and Odo-Owa in Oke-Ero local government area of Kwara State, Oba Samuel Niyi Dada and Oba Joshua Adeyemi Adimula respectively, are to forfeit three months salaries to the state government.

This was part of the State's Executive Council resolutions after considering white paper on the report of Judicial Commission of Inquiry into the communal clash between the two communities.

Briefing newsmen after council's meeting, commissioner for local government and chieftaincy affairs, Muhammed Haruna Tambiri said the state government has also restricted the movement of both monarchs to their domains throughout the three months period.

According to the commissioner, who explained that the council also banned the monarchs from attending any official function during the period, "the monarchs should not travel out of their domains except with the permission of their council Chairman".

Also speaking during the press briefing, commissioner for information and communications, Alhaji Tunde Ajeigbe said council also directed that Iloffa-Odo-owa common central market should henceforth be used only for commercial purposes. "The market has been banned for any cultural or religions activities", Ajeigbe said.

Meanwhile, the executive council has also directed the state's Ministry of Justice to commence prosecution of identified perpetrators of the violence during which lives were lost and properties destroyed.

According to Senior Special Assistant, Media and communications to the governor, Dr Muideen Akorede, the council also directed the Secretary to the State Government, Alhaji Isiaka Gold to write the state Commissioner of Police to commence immediate mopping up of fire arms in both communities to forestall a reoccurrence of violence in the area.

Abdulwahab Oba

Chief Press Secretary

to the Kwara State Governor



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Kwara United     Modupe Oluwole     Alanamu     Ojuekun Sarumi     Christopher Ayeni     UTME     Albert Ogunsola     20 Billion Bond     Michael Ologundea     Moses Adekanye     Erin-ile     Yakub Lai Gobir     Gbenga Awoyale     Salake     Kwara Polytechnic     Idris Garuba     Oloye     Alfa Modibbo Belgore     Ayedun     Awodun     Yunus Lawal     Sherif Sagaya     Local Government Pension Board     Geri-Alimi Split Diamond Interchange     Omu-aran     Bukola Saraki     Shao     April 11     Sunday Fagbemi     Saad Omo Iya     Adegoke Bamidele     Akeem Olatunji     Oyun     Saka Keji     AIT Ilorin     Muhammed Danjuma     Sanusi Abubakar     Yusuf Abubakar     Bureau Of Lands     Tunji Oyawoye     Abdulrasheed Na'Allah     Computer Based Test     JAMB     Abdulfatai Baakini     Diagnostic Centre     Makama Of Ilorin     Yusuf Babatunde Abdulwahab     VADA     Maigida Soludero Transit     Bayo Onimago     Amina Susa'a De Ahmed     George Innih     Na'Allah     Allocation     Kwara Apc     Amos Sayo     Olusegun Adeniyi     Alfa Belgore     Amos Justus Sayo     Bamidele Adegoke Oladimeji     Saidu Yaro Musa     Ubandawaki     Isin     Musibau Akanji     Abdulmumin Yinka Ajia     Ogbondoroko     Eruku     Ajibike Katibi     Transition Implementation Committee     Muhammed Abdullahi     Kale Ayo     Onikijipa     Olaitan Adefila     Share-Tsaragi     Balogun Gambari     Ijagbo Health Centre     Ahmed