Gbemi Saraki Still out of Social Scene

Date: 2016-10-29

Senator Gbemisola Saraki, daughter of the late strongman of Kwara politics, Dr. Olusola Saraki, and younger sister of the Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki, is one woman that many would not find difficult to define. She was first elected into the House of Representatives in 1999 to represent Asa/Ilorin West Federal Constituency, Kwara State and was later elected to represent the People's Democratic Party in the Central Senatorial District of Kwara State in April 2003.

She contested for governorship election in the state in 2011 and 2014, but failed to make any meaningful impact. She also commands large grassroots followership because of her love for the poor and the lowly people in the society In addition to the foregoing, her great dress sense and beauty stand her out. For this and more, she had been a show-stopper at many events in the past.

However, it is doubtful if the former member of the National Assembly still commands the same attention and respect today. Initially, many had attributed this to the political war with her brother, Bukola over the control of Kwara State politics after the death of their father. But this has since been put to rest as she has since reconciled with him. She was even compensated with the position of Chairman, Governing Council of the Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa State.


Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Yeketi     Baboko     Kwara Liberation Group     Muritala Awodun     Dauda Adeniran Adeshola     Umar Bayo Abdulwahab     Lai Mohammed     Sunday Fagbemi     Maryam A. Garuba     Ahmad Uthman     Sheriff Olanrewaju     Bamikole Omishore     Abubakar B.M     Idris Garuba     Umar Sanda Yusuf     Abdulmajeed Wahab     David Adesina     Ajibike Katibi     Idyat Omolola Isiaq     Samuel Adaramola     Zulu Gambari     Abdullahi Adisa Akodudu     Abubakar Baba     Yoruba     Baaziki Sulaiman     Alimi Abdulrazaq     Opobiyi     Ilorin West     Aremu Odolaye     Abubakar Olusola Saraki     Eruku     Yakub Lai Gobir     Anilelerin     Apaokagi     Ahmed Mohammed Rifun     Igbaja     Ayo Salami     Maja     Moro     Lawyers Unite Against Corruption     Admiralty Villa     Monkey Pox     Ganmo     Dairo Kunle Paul     Erubu Oba Zubair     Ayinde Oyepitan     Kwara Central     Borgu     IF-K     Mogaji Aare     Henry Olaosebikan     Federal Allocation     Sheriff Shagaya     Hameed Oladipupo Ali     Suleiman Abubakar     Olaiya Zuberu     Buhari     Olatunji Ayeni     COEASU     Moshood Bakare     Kwara Polytechnic     Mamatu Abdullahi     Amoyo     Royal FM     Ijakadi     Musa Alhassan Buge     Kwara     Gbemisola Saraki     CBT     Alloy Chukwuemeka     Oyin-Zubair     Ayegbeni     Kwasu     Offa Poly     Kwara Poly     Rex Olawoye