Ex-Gov Bamigboye's Property Released 26 Years After

Date: 2003-05-11

The Kwara State Governor, Alhaji Mohammed Lawal at the weekend, announced the release of the property of the former Military Governor of the State, Brigadier Gen. David Bamigboye, seized 26 years age by the then federal Military Government.

According to Lawal, the release became imperative as contained in the Decrees 24 and 54 of 1973 forfeiture of Assets, promulgated by the former Nigerian military ruler, Gen. Ibrahim Babangida.

Lawal, through the Information Commissioner, Mr. Wale Oladepo listed the property as: one storey building and four bungalows all situated along Umaru Audi Road, GRA, IIorin.

Oladepo said: "since paragraph 50 of chapter 12 of the Assets Investigation Panel report did not indict Brig. Gen. Bamigboye seriously, the Governor (Lawal) decided to bring the issue to the council for approval."

Section 317 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria vests titles in those properties on Kwara State Government.

The release of the property, took effect from May 1, 2003 and did not attract any liability on the part of the government.

Although, Bamigboye had in the past written countless letters, to successive administrators and governors of the State, requesting for the release of the property to no avail ,Oladepo said the property was released on "the government's humanitarian gesture."

Besides, the Commissioner who believed that Bamigboye served the state meritoriously, said the state government would commence payment of rent to the former governor on the property for the next 12 months, within which it would be able to find alternative accommodation for government officials "currently occupying the buildings."




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Laduba     Surajudeen Akanbi     Bayo Ajia     Na'Allah     Idi-Ape     MMWG     Akanbi-Oke     Sa'ad Alanamu     Kwarareports     Abiodun Jacob Ajiboye     Alimi Abdulrazaq     Sidikat Uthman Ajibola     ARMTI     KFA     Akorede     VADA     Dogara     Kazeem Adekanye     Olomu     Ahmed Idris Mohammed     Ilorin East/South Federal Constituency     Kayode Issa     Alloy Chukwuemeka     College Of Health     Muritala Awodun     Al-Adaby     Babata     Vasolar-Kwara Company Ltd     Oba Abdulkadir La'aro     Ayodele Kuburat Olaosebikan     Abdul-Rasheed Na 'Allah     Oko-Erin     AGF Abdulrazak     Abegunde Goke     Riskat Opakunle     Shuaib Abdulkadir     Binta Abubakar-Mora     AbdulHamid Adi     Yahaya Abdulkareem     JAAC     Ohoro Of Shao     Kaiama     Muhammadu Buhari     Salihu Ajia     Musa Ayinla Yeketi     Ahmad Lawan     Vasolar Consortium     Abdulrahman Abdulrasak     Ojo Fadumila     Post-utme     Olugbense     Iyabo Adewuyi     Nupe     Ike Ekweremadu     Mohammed Tunde-Jimoh     Dele Momodu     KWASIEC     Saad Omo Iya     Ayodele Olaosebikan     Taofeek Sanusi     Ayeni     Shao     Students Union Government     Halimat Yusuf     Onilorin Of Ilorin     Lanre Aremu     Baba Isale     Federal Allocation     Omotoso     Elerinjare     Sarafadeen Kayode Akorede     AbdulRauf Keji     Ejidongari     Tunde Oyawoye     Salake     Abdullahi Saadudeen Alikinla     Bello Bature