Minimum wage: We will not sign any agreement with Kwara State government - NLC

Date: 2019-11-06
The Nigerian Labour Congress, NLC, Kwara state chapter has said it will not rush into signing an agreement with the state government on the new minimum wage regime until it receives further directives from its national body on a new template for implementation.

The NLC State chairman, Comrade Issa Ore, dropped the hint at a meeting with chairmen of industrial unions in the state, held at the Labour House, Ilorin, the state capital.

Issa disclosed that the Congress had agreed to wait for the new template following a recent meeting with the national body held in Enugu state, where state labour leaders were cautioned against signing agreements with their state governments.

"We will soon come out clear with our position on the implementation of N30,000 new minimum wage regime for workers in the state."

"We have directives from above to soft-pedal on the agreement with the state government" he said.

The Kwara state labour boss also assured pensioners in the state that the NLC would make a case for their welfare and also work towards making life for all and sundry.

He further appealed to workers in the state to remain patient, assuring that their interests and yearnings will be protected to the letter.

"We will work with organised labour including the Trade Union Congress, TUC and the Joint Negotiating Council, JNC, to ensure success in the struggle for the cause of workers and pensioners He assured.

The congress also frowned at the recent questionnaires which purportedly emanated from the office of the Head of Service and circulated to civil servants in the state, asking workers to among others evaluate the performances of labour leaders in the state.

While condemning the act in its totality, the congress described it as a calculated attempt to polarise organised labour in the state.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Dogara     Bio Ibrahim     Popo-Igbonna     Olatunde Olukoya     Ganmo     Elelu     Lanre Issa Onilu     IDPU     Tafida Of Kaiama     Lukman Adeloyin     Henry Makinwa     Danladi     Olomu     Monsurat Omotosho     Dumagi     Suleiman Ajadi     Suleiman Rotimi Iliasu     Ishola Balogun Fulani     Saidu Isa     Omoniyi     Aisha Abodunrin Ibrahim     Ashiru     Wahab Abayawo     Haliru Yahaya     Ijakadi     Fatimoh Lawal     Taofik Mustapha     Isaac Gbenle     COEASU     NAWOJ     Idris Garba     Council Of The Wise     Towobola Abdulrahman Toyin     Quareeb Islamic Association     Oniyangi Kunle Sulaiman     KSIRS     Dele Belgore     Tunde Oyawoye     Share     Aliyu Salihu     Olayinka Are     Sulyman Buhari     Amina Susa'a De Ahmed     Ola Falade     Tunji Arosanyin     Olokoba Abdullahi Ayinla     20 Billion Bond     Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq     Oyawoye     Lai Mohammed     Aminat Ahmed     Afonja     Sunday Otokiti     Abdulkarim Adisa     Saba Jibril     Is'haq Modibbo Kawu     Oyedun Juliana Funke     Olushola Saraki     Muhammed Danjuma     Saka Adeyemo     Femtech     Ile Arugbo     Kanu Agabi     Idofin     Basit Olatunji     Onilorin Of Ilorin     Okeose Christian Cementary     Salami Adekunle     Isiaka Danmeromu     Abdullahi AbdulMajeed     Isiaka Oniwa     Shero     Toyin Saraki     Lawan     Ilorin East/South Federal Constituency     KWASAA     Lawal Arinola Kudirat