Kwara State: SWAN Threatens To Boycott National Youth Games

Date: 2019-09-07

The Kwara chapter of the Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN) has threatened to boycott the 5th National Youth Games (NYG) holding in Ilorin from Saturday, Sept. 17.

This was part of decisions reached by the body after its State Executive Committee (SEC) meeting on Friday in Ilorin, following certain lapses on the part of the Games' organisers.

In a statement signed by its Secretary, Olayinka Owolewa, Kwara SWAN said the organisers failed to consider the activities of the media in their plans.

"The Federal Ministry of Youths and Sports Development had consistently disrespected our members over the years through the non-provision of a Games Media Centre and shuttle buses for journalists, as well as a cumbersome accreditation process."

It also noted that if a member of the Association had been part of the games' Main Organising Committee (MOC) or Local Organising Committee (LOC), these issues would have been addressed.

"Right from the beginning of the staging of the NYG in Ilorin, the Ministry has never provided a Media Centre.

"How do you hold an event like this and sports journalists will be hanging under trees to work, with no room to compare notes or shuttle buses to ease movement. We have complained over the years, yet there has been no change.

"What we are asking for is a Media Centre, shuttle bus(es) to assist our members to the various venues and a seamless accreditation process for journalists covering the games."

Kwara SWAN then warned that if nothing changes between now and early on Sunday, the chapter would officially notify its National Secretariat of its decision.

It added that this would be with a view to seeking a wider non-coverage of this year's NYG by the media, and urged its members to wait for directives.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

QuickWin     Gambari     Adam Abdullahi Al-Ilory     Joseph Yemi Ajayi     Sherif Sagaya     Abdulahi Abubakar Bata     Onikijipa     Ilorin Durbar     Abegunde Goke     Omotoso     Abubakar Suleiman     GANZY     Michael Ologundea     Manzuma     Rotimi Atere     Admiralty Villa     Eleja Taiwo Banu     Unilorin     Monkey Pox     Ajidagba     Baba Isale     Oyin-Zubair     Quranic Recitation Competition     KWASAA     Ishak Mohammed Sabi     Amuda Musbau     Folashade Omoniyi     Ramat Oganija     Yusuf Ali     Ayeni     Yeketi     Yusuf Abubakar     Gwanara     Kayode Ogunlowo     Adijat Adebiyi     Kwara Restoration Project     Garuba Alikinla Shittu     Buari Edun     Alapado     Abdulraufu Mustapha     Pategi     Offa Descendants Union     NULGE     Ahmed Bayero     Imam Gambari     Yusuf Olaolu Ali     Saka Onimago     Transition Implementation Committee     Ojo Fadumila     Esinrogunjo     Ijagbo Health Centre     Susan Modupe Oluwole     Niyi Osundare     Moses Adekanye     Ramadan     George Innih     Raimi Iyanda     Sebastine Obasi     Baruten     Sarakite     Muyiwa Oladipo Kanu     Sola Saraki Educational Foundation     Umar Sanda Yusuf     Apaokagi     Amos Justus Sayo     Kola Bukoye     Tsaragi-Share     CUTI     Kudirat Arinola Lawal     Abdulwahab Oba     Okedare     Ali Ahmad     Iqra Books     Tunji Arosanyin     Fatai Olodo     Gbemisola Saraki