Kwara: EFCC arrests 24 suspects for internet fraud, one for vote buying

Date: 2019-03-13

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) in Ilorin has arrested 24 suspects for internet fraud and one other for vote buying in Kwara.

Mr Isyaku Sharu, Zonal head of EFCC, Ilorin, who disclosed this in an interview with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in his office, said that most of those arrested "were vibrant, young and energetic youths, aged between 18 and 25.

"Among those arrested are two corps members, some students of University of Ilorin and others from the Kwara Polytechnic, including their girlfriends

"15 of them have been taken to court, while the remaining 10 girls are still under investigation until we find something against them," he said.

Sharu said that before the Presidential, National Assembly, Governorship and State Assemblies Elections, the commission embarked on an enlightenment programme on both the local media, English and Yoruba media warning citizens against vote buying

" We informed them that vote buying was a criminal offence as structured in the Electoral procedure act "We published our numbers for people to call, and during the last Gubernatorial and House of Assembly elections, we got calls and we were able to arrest one person for vote buying and we will soon charge him to court," he said.

Sharu said that the commission, in collaboration with the Nigerian Customs Service (NCS), also arrested a fake Customs controller, who swindled members of the public, issuing them forms for employment and collecting huge sums of money.

"Unsuspected citizens were given forms for employment into the NCS by the suspect, who collected up to N500,000.

"He has since been charged to court," he said.

He said the EFCC will collaborate with stakeholders in the state, like the security agents, law enforcement, traditional institution, Corps members and students against economic and financial crimes in the state.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Sulyman Age AbdulKareem     Afolayan     Sunday Fagbemi     Popo-Igbonna     Ishak Mohammed Sabi     Oluranti Idowu     V.O. Abioye     Abdulmajeed Wahab     Abdulraheem Yusuf     Abdulwahab Oba     Saidu Kawu     Hassan A. Saliu     Ilorin Emirate     Mohammed Kamaludeen     Amuda Aluko     Oke-Odo     Gobir     Orisun Igbomino     Lawal Arinola Kudirat     National Association Of Nigerian Students     Ayodele Olaosebikan     Ilorin South     Emmanuel Bello     Towobola Abdulrahman Toyin     Kupchi Hosea Maxwell     Mumeen Lah     MAI Akande     Omotoso     Kale Bayero     Ajibike Katibi     Aminat Ahmed     Yomi Ogunsola     Elections     Abdulwasiu Bolaji Adeyi     Omoniyi Ayinla     Bayo Lawal     Adamu B. Yaqubu     Lafiagi     Abdulraheem Olesin     Oba Abdulkadir La'aro     Kehinde Baale     Kwara 2019     Kisira     Saadu Gbogbo Iwe     2017 Budget     Muhammed Danjuma     IF-K     Tayo Alao     Royal FM     Kayode Issa     Al-Adaby     Alimi     School Of Nursing     Mogaji Aare     Gabriel Fashanu     Amoyo     Idiagbon     Computer Based Test     Susan Modupe Oluwole     Saraki     Abdulkadir Akanbi-Oke     Lai Mohammed     Tunde Saad     Vasolar Consultoria     Iqra Books     COEASU     Admiralty Villa     Kayode Ibrahim     Kwara Central     Halimat Yusuf     Mufti Of Ilorin     Saidu Isa     Esuwoye     Abdullahi Atanda     Najim Yaasin     Kwara State Government     Abdulrazak Shehu Akorede