Union honours 25 new professors in Kwara, tasks them on community development

Date: 2018-10-08

The Ilorin Emirate Descendants Progressive Union on Sunday in Ilorin honoured 25 new Professors from various universities in the country, who are indigenes of the llorin Emirate in Kwara.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that the event was attended by several eminent indigenes of the Emirate as well as kiths and kins of the new Professors.

The special Prayer for the new Professors which lasted for about an hour was led by the Chief lmam lmale of llorin, Alhaji Abdullahi AbdulHamned. The National President of the lEDPU, Amb. Sheikh AbdulAzeez, in his remark charged the newly promoted professors to focus their researches on community development services.

Abdulazeez described their elevation as a welcomed development as it has complemented the cumulative efforts of others in debunking the stereotype of ignorance in the Emirate. The National President urged the professors to always particularise their researches on Ilorin Emirate and her interests for more development to be attained.

He noted that Ilorin, no doubt, had a universal reputation and urged the professors to make the emirate more famous by deploying their energies and intellect in further placing it on the global intellectual map.

He said: "Like our forefathers did, you must be ready to fight for the cause of Ilorin and always ready to defend her interests and core values. "You will need to appreciate the "Ilorin Project’’ of our founding fathers, by sustaining the aspirations of the community." The union president reminded them that their status demands offering every form of assistance to their younger colleagues from Ilorin for more development in all facets of life In his remark, former Vice Chancellor of University of Ilorin, Prof. Abdulganiyu Ambali, said the honour done on the new Professors by IEDPU signifies enormous responsibilities ahead of them.

Ambali charged the newly promoted professors to have the love of their community at heart in the discharge of their new tasks ahead.

Also speaking, a member of International Diplomatic Circle, Ambassador Muhammad Abdulwahab noted that Ilorin community was growing rapidly but the development of the community does not match its growing status.

He urged the new professors to research on peace and development of Ilorin community, adding that there could not be development where there is no peace. Responding on behalf of honourees, the Provost, College of Law, Kwara State University, Malete, Prof. AbdulRahman Amuda-Kannike (SAN) thanked IEDPU for the honour which he described as very rare. He promised to justify the confidence reposed in them by always being good ambassadors of Ilorin Emirate anywhere they might found themselves.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Bilikisu Oniyangi     Saka Onimago     NAWOJ     Y.A. Abdulkareem     Kwara North     Vasolar Consultoria     Henry Makinwa     Bayo Ajia     Dogara     Emmanuel Bello     Shehu Salau     Mogaji Aare     Awili Pedro     International Aviation College     Ilorin Central Mosque     Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq     Akeem Olatunji     Patience Jonathan     Yeketi     Dele Belgore     Toyin Sanusi     Abdulrazaq Akorede     Ajikobi     Maigida Soludero Transit     Hassan A. Saliu     Onilorin Of Ilorin     Durosinlohun Kawu     Abiodun Abdulkareem     Femtech     Sarafadeen Kayode Akorede     Isiaka Gold     Modibo Kawu     Hassan Oyeleke     Olomu Of Omu-Aran     College Of Education     Hassan Saliu     Alfa Modibo Belgore     Bayo Lawal     Omotosho     Ilorin Emirate     NaAllah     Kawu     Amos Justus Sayo     Niguel Gallando Marcias     Oko     Idowu Aremu     Senate Presidency     Shonga     Ibrahim Abduquadri Abikan     Kupchi Hosea Maxwell     Sango-UITH Road     Kamaldeen Ajibade     Gobirawa     Sheriff Shagaya     Gbemi Saraki     Isiaka Saka Opobiyi     Baba Isale     Bolakale Ayo     Solomon Edojah     Henry Olaosebikan     Abdulraheem Olesin     Tunji Moronfoye     Laolu Saraki     Kayode Ibrahim     Biliaminu Aliu     Saheed Popoola     Yunus Lawal     Sulyman Buhari     08001000100     Sulyman Atolagbe Alege     Wale Oladepo     Oloyede     Sarakite     National Association Of Nigerian Students     Olatunde Olukoya     Olayinka Olaogun     Sarah Jubril