Kwara Express salary arrears: Amalgamated union gives state govt two weeks ultimatum

Date: 2018-04-16

The Kwara state Amalgamated Union of Public Corporations Civil Service Technical and Recreational Services Employees (AUPCTRE) has given the state Government two weeks ultimatum to all salaries arrears of Kwara Express workers.

The outgoing Chairman of the Union, Comrade Gabriel Afolabi made the disclosure during the 5th Quadrennial state delegates conference held at Michael Imoudu National Institute of Labour Studies, Ilorin, Kwara state.

He said " the activities of Harmony Holdings in Kwara Express and Kwara Investment Property Development Corporation is becoming worrisome.

" The holdings are interested in collecting all income generated by this organizations without any commitment towards the welfare of workers.

"We therefore appeal to the state government to intervene in mandating the management of Harmony holdings to settle the outstanding arrears of 18,000 minimum wage amounting to N8.5 million.

"unremitted outstanding arrears of Cooperative amounting to N9.5 million, unremitted National Housing Fund amounting to N6 million, unremitted Contributory Pension amounting to N8.7 million and no promotion to deserving workers since the inception of Harmony holdings.

The Chairman stressed that if these conditions are not met in two weeks they cannot guarantee industrial action. The Kwara state Chairman of Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), Comrade Yakeen Agunbiade called on the state government to fulfill her by facilitating the process of acquiring the N4 billion loan to clear workers' arrears both in the local government councils and MDAs.

He said: "We workers are not happy with the government because the Governor during our 40th anniversary about a month ago promised that the loan will be available but we are still waiting endlessly. The NLC boss expressed grievances over the Head of Service absence but sending somebody to represent her during the quadrennial conference. According to him labour will continue to support AUPCTRE in ensuring that their demands are met by the state government.

The North Central zone AUPCTRE Chairman, Comrade Shaaba Yusuf, who supervised the election of new state Executive council called on them to work together and obey the laid down constitution of the Union. Those elected were: State Chairman, Engr. Michael Bamidele, Vice chairman 1 Comrade Manzuma Ibraheem, Vice chairman 2, Comrade. Salmon Abdulganiyu, Treasure, Comrade. Saka Taofeek, Sec Finance, Comrade. Mrs. Babatunde Mariam. Others were Secretary Administration, Comrade Olarongbe Amuda, Secretary Welfare, Mashood Hassan, Auditor, Comrade. Shuaib Yahaya, Ex officio, Comrade Yaqoob Babatunde and the State Secretary assigned to Kwara State zone Comrade Saliu Oluwole Suleimam.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Mohammed Khadijat Kubura     Mohammed Abdulahi     Ayodele Kuburat Olaosebikan     Abdulhakeem Adelaja Amao     Vasolar-Kwara Company Ltd     Sa'adu Gambari     Mustapha AbdulGaniyu     Bond     Yusuf Amuda Abubakar     Ajase-Ipo     Moji Makanjuola     Olatunde Olukoya     Ishaq Salman     Idyat Omolola Isiaq     Bilikis Oladimeji     Kudirat Arinola Lawal     Muslim Cementary     Aisha Abodunrin Ibrahim     Firdaos Amasa     Abegunde Goke     Ishaq Oloyede     KFA     School Of Nursing     Kwara Muslim Pilgrims Welfare Board     GRA     Sulyman Buhari     Ladi Hassan     Ahmad Ali     Eleja     Oke-Ogun     Asa     Halidu Danbaba     Yusuf Abubakar     Isiaka Danmeromu     Omotosho     Agboola Babatunde     Niyi Osundare     Erin-ile     Kola Shittu     Shonga     Jimoh Lambe Abdulkareem     Sherif Sagaya     Kawu     Bio Ibrahim     Code Of Conduct Bureau     Idi-Ape     Olayinka Olaogun     Clara Nwachukwu     Rafiu Ibrahim     Kwara Politics     Ilorin Airport     Abdulkadir Remi Hawawu     CCB     Agbarere     George Funsho Adebayo     Oke-Kura     Societe Generale Bank Of Nigeria     Abubakar Baba Sulaiman     Gbenga Olawepo     Sam Okaula     Oko-Erin     Mumeen Lah     Abdulrazaq Magaji     Opobiyi     Code Of Conduct Tribunal     Tosin Saraki     Oba Abdulrahim     CBT     Kwarareports     Oluwole Dupe     Florence Saraki     Okeose Christian Cementary     Muideen Olaniyi Alalade     Salman Alada     GANZY     Raimi Iyanda     Oladimeji Thompson