IPMAN strike worsens fuel scarcity in Kwara

Date: 2018-02-02

The lingering fuel crisis took a turn for the worse in Kwara State yesterday as members of the Independent Petroleum Marketers Association of Nigeria (IPMAN) in the state enforced a close down of all their stations still dispensing fuel. The development, according to some members of the association, who spoke with our reporter, was borne out of the refusal by the regulatory agency to allow members of the association to sell at market price. A member of the association who spoke on the issue but asked not to be identified in the media, said:

"We have asked them to allow us to sell at market price but they won't, yet they are not giving us allocation as scheduled. We know that we can sell at N160 if they allow us. "We have even initiated meetings with the governor to help us convince DPR on the need to allow us and therefore reduce the current tension in the system but nothing has come out of such interactions."We told them what is obtainable in other states such as Oyo and Osun where motorists can drive in and buy at market price. That is what we want here in Kwara."

It was gathered that a task force had been constituted by the association to enforce the strike. Any member found flouting the decision of the association would be fined the sum of N500, 000 it was learnt.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Olayinka Are     Valsolar-Kwara Company Limited     Usman Rifun     Quareeb Islamic Association     International Vocational Centre     Femi Ogunsola     Labaeka     Adebara     Omotosho     Lafiagi     Aminat Ahmed     Ajikobi     Abdulrahman Iliasu     Ekweremadu     Oba Abdulrahim     NAWOJ     Kayode Zubair     Yusuf Abdulraheem     Ilorin West     Yusuf Babatunde Abdulwahab     Quareeb     Gbajabiamila     Yusuf Amuda Abubakar     Malete     Binta Abubakar-Mora     Moronfoye     Share-Tsaragi     Aisha Abodunrin Ibrahim     Ishaq Salman     Wahab Abayawo     Kehinde Baale     Halidu Danbaba     Alimi Abdulrazaq     Ayinde Oyepitan     Abdullahi G. Mohammad     Muhammadu Buhari     Ilorin Central Mosque     Aremu Odolaye     Ilorin West/Asa Federal Constituency     Ahmed Mohammed Rifun     Kwasu     Sobi Specialist Hospital     Quranic Recitation Competition     Taofeek Sanusi     Offa Descendants Union     Oju Ekun Sarumi     Bilikis Oladimeji     Bolaji Abdullahi     Ramadan     Aisha Buhari     Olayinka Olaogun     Jimba Babatunde     Apado     Tsaragi/Share     Joseph Daudu     Jimoh Lambe Abdulkareem     Oniyangi Kunle Sulaiman     Ahmed Idris Mohammed     Arca Santa     Innocent Okoye     Umar Ahmed Gunu     Elections     Playing Host     Monkey Pox     Senate President     Ajasse-Ipo     Simeon Sule Ajibola     Olaoye B. Felix     Ope Saraki     Eleyele     V.O. Abioye     Nurudeen Mohammed     Yusuf Amuda Gobir     Tunji Moronfoye     Emir Of Ilorin     April 11     Bureau Of Lands