KWSG debunks sales of liaison house in Kaduna

Date: 2017-12-07

The Kwara State Government, yesterday, denied the reports of putting its Kaduna liaison house up for sale.

It was reported that a case recently came up between the Kwara State Government and its Kaduna counterpart on the said property, located at Lugards house.

The Kwara liaison house was said to have been sold to a personality in the state at a give away price but the Kaduna State Governor, Nasiru el-Rufai reportedly put some obstacles to stop the sales of the giant house.

The report added that the state government instructed the media not to publicise the issue as frantic efforts are being made to settle the case out of court.

Speaking on the issue last night, the Senior Special Assistant on Media and Communications to the Kwara State Governor, Dr Muideen Akorede said there was no iota of truth in the report.

"The report is completely untrue. Nobody has the intention of selling any property. The liaison house and other property of the state government are still intact.

"What came up at the Supreme Court was a case between the Kwara State Government and its Kaduna State counterpart on another property being disputed. "Let me restate that the Kwara State Government under the leadership of Dr Abdulfatah Ahmed has not put up any of its property for sale," Akorede stated.

In another development, the Kwara State Government said it has released the sum of N378,426,018.04 as allocation for the fourth quarter of 2017 to six tertiary institutions in the state.

The state Commissioner for Finance, Engr Demola Banu, who made the disclosure on Tuesday, said following Governor Ahmed's approval, the institutions have received the funds.

The beneficiary institutions according to Banu are College of Education, Ilorin; College of Education, Oro; College of Arabic and Islamic Legal Studies (CAILS), Ilorin, College of Education (Technical), Lafiagi, School of Nursing, Oke-Ode and School of Midwifery, Ilorin.

A breakdown of the payment to the institutions shows that College of Education, Ilorin received N134,333,338.48, College of Education, Oro got N101,215,435.20, College of Education (Technical), Lafiagi received N79,701,804.00, while College of Arabic and Islamic Legal Studies (CAILS), Ilorin received N43,843,496.09.

School of Nursing, Oke-Ode got N7,729,637.62 and School of Midwifery, Ilorin received N11,602,256.65.

The Finance Commissioner expressed confidence that the release of the funds would assist the management of the institutions to clear the salary arrears owed their workers.

He also recalled that the state government had in August released the sum of N312million to the affected institutions as their third quarter subvention for the year.

The tertiary institutions had earlier in the year received a total of N204, 936, 393.62 from the State government as allocation for first and second quarters of 2017.

Banu assured that the state government would continue to support the institutions through regular provision of allocation to enable them meet their commitments.


Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Shuaib Abdulkadir     Saka Keji     Cassava Growers' Association     Saka Abimbola Isau     Tunji Arosanyin     Kwara Coalition Of Business And Professional Associations     Lawyers Unite Against Corruption     Ekweremadu     Bola Iyabo Ibiyeye Adisa     Saka Adeyemo     Seni Saraki     Kale Ayo     Veterinary Teaching Hospital     Sanusi Abubakar     Saidu Isa     Tafida Of Kaiama     Mohammed Tunde-Jimoh     Apado     Abdulkadir Remi Hawawu     KWACOBPA     Kwara     Arandun     Abdulfatai Salman Baakini     Lanre Aremu     Ramadan     Kwara State Government     Royal FM     Sola Saraki University     Babaita     Ajikobi     Reuben Paraje     Senate Presidency     Hameed Oladipupo Ali     Offa Poly     Cornelius Adebayo     Ramat Oganija     Women For Change And Development Initiative     National Association Of Nigerian Students     Abubakar Baba     20 Billion Bond     Aminat Omodara     Biliaminu Aliu     Mashood Dauda     Abdulfatai Ahmed     Maigida Soludero Transit     Yusuf Ali     Dauda Adesola     Rapheal Ashaolu     Yoonus Lawal     Bilikis Oladimeji     Oke-Ero     Muhammadu Gobir     Oke-Kura     Kaiama     Hausa     Innocent Okoye     Oyelere Oyinloye     Adeleke Ogungbe     Sunday Fagbemi     Abdullahi Imam Abdullahi     Haliru Dantoro     Tunji Moronfoye     Muhammadu Buhari     Ojo Fadumila     Ayo Salami     Jimba Babatunde     Riskat Opakunle     Falokun-Oja     Abubakar B.M     Tunde Akanbi     Kayode Ogunlowo     Ahmad Lawan     Oluranti Idowu     Mohammed Abduraheem     Kayode Issa     Omotoso     Ilorin Emirate