LG Poll: 500 PDP decampees in Asa pledge support to Saraki, Atunwa

Date: 2017-11-16

No fewer than 500 members of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Asa Local Government Area of Kwara State, yesterday, defected to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

The defectors joined the APC during the campaign for Saturday's council poll in Afon, Aboto-Oja, Alapa and Ballah, which attracted large turnout of party faithful.

The decampees led by Alhaji Olarewaju Pakoyi were presented to the gathering by the State Assistant Treasurer of APC, Alhaji Amuda Abdulsalam Yusuf (Morroco) on behalf of Hon Rasak Atunwa.

In his remark, Atunwa commended the defectors for taking the bold step and assured them of equal opportunity as the party is large enough to accommodate all.

He described Asa APC as one big family, charging the defectors to vote en mass and work for the success of the party in the council poll in order to bring the dividends of democracy to their door steps.

While admitting the defectors to the party, the APC Kwara Central Senatorial Chairman, Alhaji Jimoh Adesina urged them to be committed and come forward with progressive ideas.

Reacting, the leader of the group, Pakoyi described the event as 'home coming' having left the ruling APC some months ago, due to grievances.

He explained that the reunion was facilitated by Hon. Atunwa and some other stalwart of the party in the council area, promising on behalf of other defectors, to cast their vote for all APC candidates.

Speaking earlier, a party chieftain, Alhaji Saad Ajelanwa said a vote for the APC chairmanship candidate, Hajia Risikat Opakunle is in appreciation of the Senate President, Dr Bukola Saraki for even distribution of dividends of democracy in the state.

…another Chieftain decamps to APC in Moro

One of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) bigwigs, Alhaji Muktar Aliyu Tawakaltu, has decamped to the All Progressive? Congress (APC).

Deputy Speaker, Kwara State House of Assembly, Hon. Mathew Okedare received the decampee on behalf of the party executive.

Muktar who is the chairman of the Kwara State Hausa Community Political Forum, People's Democratic Party officially announce his defection to the ruling party during the ward Congress held at the weekend at UMCA primary school, Jebba.

While speaking at the event, he noted that the decision to decamp was borne out of the desire of his people (the PDP Hausa Community) throughout the sixteen local government in the state, who were not satisfied with the way things are being done in the opposition party.

He further emphasized that his coming back to the party is like going back to the source because they were with the late political Godfather of Kwara politics, Dr. Abubakar Olusola Saraki, throughout his political journey in Kwara State.

He observed that the Hausa Community lost her political recognition since the demise of the late Olusola Saraki.

He said the Hausa Community respects the formidable structure of the All Progressive Congress (APC) in the state and thereafter laud the achievements of the distinguished President of the Senate, Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki, the Executive Governor of Kwara state, Alhaji Abdulfatah Ahmed, the speaker Kwara state House of Assembly, Dr. Ali Ahmad and his Deputy Hon. Mathew Okedare.

While reacting to this development, the Deputy Speaker, Kwara State House of Assembly, and Jagaban, Hon. Mathew Okedare welcomed them and urge them to be a good ambassadors of the party. He assured the people of Jebba ward of employment and some social amenities that would make living comfortable for them.

A former S.A to the Executive Governor of Kwara state, Hon. John Okedare also lauded those decamping for taking such a bold step. He further charged them to ensure victory in their various polling units comes the November 18 council polls.


Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Shagari     Funmi Salau     Offa Descendants Union     Yusuf Babatunde Abdulwahab     2017 Budget     Shoprite     CUTI     Ilorin East     Salihu Jibril Garbi     Isiaka Yusuf     National Association Of Nigerian Students     Awodun     Oloye     Mohammed Halidu     Abdulraufu Mustapha     Adamu Ibrahim Sabi     Kwarareports     Abubakar Aliagan     Ogbondoroko     Igbaja     Moshood Mustapha     Kisira     Saka Isau     Raimi Iyanda     Idris Garuba     Abubakar Olusola Saraki     Valsolar Consortium     Otunba Taiwo Joseph     Sunday Otokiti     Ilorin Airport     Yunus Oniboki     AbdulHamid Adi     Abiodun Abdulkareem     Alaiye     Abubakar Baba Sulaiman     Abdulahi Abubakar Bata     Ekiti     Bankole Omishore     Bilikis Oladimeji     Edu     Okasanmi Ajayi     Joseph Yemi Ajayi     Moses Salami     Students Union Government     Aisha Buhari     Mahmud Durosinlohun Atiku     Adeleke Ogungbe     Kwara Hotel     Afonja Descendants Union     Ganmo     Fatai Adeniyi Garba     Okeose Christian Cementary     Illyasu Abdullahi     Ibrahim Abdullahi     Sa'adu Gambari     Esinrogunjo     Ilesha-Baruba     Abdullahi Adisa Akodudu     Garuba Alikinla Shittu     Quranic Recitation Competition     Abubakar Suleiman     Oyun     Goodluck Jonathan     COEASU     Tsaragi-Share     Abdulwahab Oba     Muhammadu Buhari     Kwara Polytechnic     Bamikole Omishore     08001000100     Kunle Okeowo     Abdulrahman Iliasu     Senate     Balogun Ajikobi     Yunus Lawal     Christopher Ayeni     Ohoro Of Shao