NBTE approves 29 courses for Kwara Poly, says Rector

Date: 2017-06-07

The Rector of Kwara State Polytechnic, Alhaji Mas'ud Elelu, says that the National Board for Technical Education has approved all the 29 courses the polytechnic submitted to it for accreditation.

Elelu disclosed this on Tuesday in Ilorin while responding to questions from journalists at the 2017 Ramadan Iftar.

He said that the institution's management would ensure that it sustained the standards of the accredited courses and introduce new ones. He said: "You all will agree with me that accreditation of courses is the key to running of courses in tertiary institutions.

"The National Board for Technical Education recently approved all the 29 courses presented to it for accreditation early in the year."

Elelu said the polytechnic was currently running 60 science-based courses; comprising 55 stale, and five new ones. The rector said that two out of the five new courses presented for accreditation were fully accredited by NBTE.

Elelu listed them as: National Diploma in Transportation Planning and Management as well as Welding and Fabrication Engineering. He stated: "As part of the general academic restructuring, we wish to introduce more courses on both campuses of the polytechnic for our teeming youths to apply for. "These will reshape their thinking from management courses to science and technology courses."

The rector listed the accredited courses to include: National Diploma in Mineral Resources and Petroleum Engineering Technology, Quantity Surveying, Metallurgy, Architectural Technology, Building Technology, Leisure and Tourism Management.

Others are: Accountancy, Banking and Finance, Business Administration, Office Technology Management, Estate Management, Urban and Regional Planning, Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technology and Statistics.

He said NBTE had also approved Higher National Diploma programmes in Accountancy, Banking and Finance, Business Administration, Marketing, Office Technology Management and Building Technology for the polytechnic.

The board also gave its approval to the polytechnic to run HND in: Survey and Geo-informatics, Science Laboratory Technology, Agricultural and Bio-Environmental Engineering Technology, Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technology and Mechanical Engineering Technology.

Elelu told the journalists that the polytechnic would soon commence e-learning whereby applicants would secure admission to the polytechnic and receive lectures online anywhere in the world.

He said this would improve the status of the polytechnic, market it to the whole world and earn foreign exchange for the state government. The rector said the institution had been granted the right to host the Nigerian Polytechnic Games, come 2018.

Elelu also said that he was in April appointed the Vice- Chairman of Commonwealth Association of Technical Universities and Polytechnics in Africa in South Africa. He appealed to journalists to continue to support the polytechnic in their reportage, most especially, during the forthcoming NIPOGA.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

IQRA College     Simeon Sule Ajibola     Ekiti     Tanke     Falokun-Oja     Bola Shagaya     Mohammed Lawal     Biliaminu Aliu     Chief Of Staff     Bilikisu Gambari     Solomon Edojah     Gafaru Olayiwola Olorisade     Ojo Fadumila     Firdaos Amasa     John Obuh     Yinka Aluko     Saka Saadu     Ilesha-Baruba     Odogun Olushola Gabriel     Tunde Yusuf     KWASIEC     Medview Airlines     Olatunji Ibrahim     IDPU     Bola Sagaya     Quranic Recitation Competition     Ilesha-Baruba-Gwanara     Kwara Muslim Pilgrims Welfare Board     Alimi Abdulrazaq     Henry Olaosebikan     Post-utme     Khadijat Ayoola Yusuf     Sidikat Uthman Ajibola     Mohammed Danjuma     Abdulfatai Salman Baakini     Bayo Lawal     Onilorin     Sango-UITH Road     Abdulrasheed Na'Allah     Tosin Saraki     Dauda Adeniran Adeshola     Awili Pedro     KWASAA     Florence Saraki     Kwara Hotel     Babatunde Idiagbon     Isiaka Oniwa     Omotoso     Oke-Ode     Kehinde Baale     Salary     Computer Based Test     Idi-Ape     Moses Afolayan     Kwara State Infrastructure Development Fund     Salman Alada     Adamu Ibrahim Sabi     Sherif Sagaya     Eruku     Mohammed Alabi Lawal     Kayode Ogunlowo     Orisun Igbomino     Saheed Popoola     Code Of Conduct Bureau     Segun Abifarin     Mahmud Durosinlohun Atiku     Oba Abdulraheem     SUBEB     Mustapha AbdulGaniyu     Olatunde Olukoya     Ahmed Bayero     Towobola Abdulrahman Toyin     Binta Abubakar-Mora     Alao Ayotunde     Oyun     Kudirat Arinola Lawal     Idowu Aremu