FG names Gbemi Saraki Chairman of Federal University, Otuoke

Date: 2016-02-14

The sister of embattled Senate President, Senator Gbemi Saraki has been named Chairman of the Governing Council of Federal University, Otuoke. She is in the list of appointees to the twelve federal universities recently released by the Federal Government.

Federal University, Otuoke is among the twelve new universities established by the immediate past regime.

Gbemisola Saraki and the incumbent Senate President, Bukola, the two most popular children of the late strongman of Ilorin politics, the late Olusola Saraki, have a long history of animosity that was resolved by the Emir of Ilorin, Ibrahim Sulu-Gambari.

The bickering is traced to 2006 when Bukola declined to support their father's proposal to get Gbemisola to succeed him as governor of Kwara State. Gbemi, who was a Senator on the platform of People's Democratic Party (PDP), defected to the All Progressive Congress (APC) shortly before the 2015 general elections.

She had then directed supporters in the 16 local government areas of the state to vote en-mass for the APC, citing the failure of the PDP to respect the place of women in politics.

"After wide consultations, we found in APC a platform that mirrors the ideals of our political family, both in content and context, especially with under the leadership of General Muhammadu Buhari.

"We are assured in the promise of the APC for a new Nigeria. We are confident in the commitment of the President to social justice, rule of law and economic posterity for all.

"I therefore call on all my supporters from across the state to take what we have started a notch further by going out to register with the All Progressives Congress (APC), and to work actively for a resounding success of the APC in the forthcoming polls.


Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Suleiman Ajadi     Moji Makanjuola     Isiaka Danmeromu     Ilorin Emirate     Kayode Ibrahim     Oladimeji Thompson     IQRA College     Roseline Oni Aremu     UITH     Ilorin Water Reticulation     Ilorin Airport     Saadu Yusuf     Igbaja     Ejidongari     Share     Mohammed Lawal     Pategi     Kwara South     Abdulkadir Orire     Oju Ekun Sarumi     ARMTI     Idris Garuba     Durosinlohun Kawu     Olomu Of Omu-Aran     Odogun Olushola Gabriel     Abdullahi Imam Abdullahi     Babata     Asa     Anilelerin     Abdullahi Adisa Akodudu     Saidu Isa     Kamaldeen Ajibade     Hajj     Senate Presidency     Adesoye     Sobi FM     BIR     Saidu Kawu     Abdullahi Atanda     Musibau Akanji     Oke-Ogun     S.O. Opowoye     Tsaragi/Share     Kwara North     Saad Omo Iya     Olateju Lukman     NAWOJ     Abdulsalam A. Yusuf     Ahmed Bayero     John Obuh     Isiaka Gold     Sunday Fagbemi     Musa Alhassan Buge     NYSC     Lanwa     Joseph Yemi Ajayi     Akeem Olatunji     April 11     Mahmud Ajeigbe     Ilesha-Baruba     John Dara     Dauda Adesola     International Aviation College     Saka Abimbola Isau     CCB     Lawyers Unite Against Corruption     Femtech     Gbajabiamila     Code Of Conduct     Salihu Alhaji Musa     David Adesina     Suleiman Idris     Sheriff Olanrewaju     Owode Market     Abdulwahab Oba     Solomon Edojah     LEAH Charity Foundation