Cultivate Active Learning with Growth Mindset - VC, Summit University, Offa, Kwara State, Nigeria

Date: 2023-03-20

The audacious Innovation and Advanced Science Research Group, (IASRG), Summit University, Offa, (SUN, Offa) Kwara State, alongside the acting Registrar, Mr Mustapha Kadiri, and led by the Vice-Chancellor and Principal Investigator, Artificial Intelligence for Females in STEM (AI4FS), Professor Aibinu converged at the Entrepreneurship building in the University to hold the inaugural Retreat for the ASIRG, the hub University for the AI4FS project. 

The retreat themed: Active Learning with Growth Mindset, aims to educate the team members on the importance of learning for implementation, and not just for knowledge. 

The dogged Chief Executive and Chief Academic Officer welcomed the guests, saying that the purpose of the retreat is also to evaluate the team activities for 2022,  set Key Performance Indicators (KPI) for 2023 and develop group and personal plan/KPI for the current year. 

"Active learning is not just about taking certified courses, you must also implement your knowledge. Learn to grow, not just to know."

He reminded the participants that the AI4FS project aims at developing innovation and inventions that would be changing the way we gain knowledge, acquire skills, work in the industry, develop our curriculum and provide gender inclusiveness in Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics (STEM) in Nigeria.

The professor of Mechatronics Engineering went further to present an overview of his mandate on growing research, innovation and development at SUN, Offa, within four years to include: introducing grantsmanship and mentoring scheme, setting up four research groups with the provision of appropriate facilities, and promoting research-based teaching for sustainable and societal development.

He also outlined the 2023 KPI for the research group to include: Growing research proposal success rate from 5% to 10%, Generating =$=1,500,000 in research grants, Moving from non-indexed publishing to  ISI indexed publishing (minimum of Q3 journals), have an income-generating registered startup company on the campus, fostering membership drive (quality over quantity), doubling the number of industry collaborators, extending invitation to other insitutions, Ensuring that the developed innovations from AISRG are patented with a minimum of two patents for the year, Attracting funded scholarship opportunities at Bachelor, Master, Doctorate and Post-Doctorate level to the University, amongst others.

The Vice-Chancellor opened the floor for all the research team members to present their achievements so far and state their goals/KPI for 2023.

At the second segment of the retreat, Professor Aibinu guided the team through the development of an effective yearly planner. He emphasized the need to achieve this bearing 5 points in mind: I am to do the work, I must manage my time, I must ensure my success,  I must accept feedback, and I must reward myself.

"As you prepare your year plan, make sure to include your family. Set SMART goals and don't waste your Time." Professor Aibinu said. 

The lively programme ended with a flurry of discussion and questions on patents, the range of journal criteria, the dangers of procrastination, and how to properly handle failure, amongst others.

Members present at the event include: Dr. Asimiyu Muraina, the Acting Director of Academic Planning Unit, SUN, Offa; Dr. Zubair, Ag. DSA; Mrs Ganiyat Afolabi-Yusuf, the Innovation and Advanced Science Research Group (IASRG) and AI4FS team lead; Mr Ibrahim Salawu, the coordinator, the Sustainable Governance Research Group  (SGR); Mrs Mutiat Muhammad, Ag. Coordinator, the Research and Innovation Unit (RIU),  Mrs. H. Lukman, the Coordinator, Academic and Industrial Immersion Programme Officer for the ASIRG; Dr. U. Okeme, the principal investigator, Bioenergy project; Mr. Y. O. Olatunde, the pioneer Ag. Coordinator, Honourary Visiting Fellowship Scheme, SUN, Offa; Mr. F. O. Uthman, the lead, Proposal Development Unit;   and other 17 senior researchers and members of the group.


Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

David Oyedepo     Elekoyangan     Alabi Lawal     Alikinla     Kannike     Olupako Of Share     Sidikat Akaje     Ajibike Katibi     Oluwole Dupe     Mutawali Of Ilorin     Adebara     Taofik Abdulkareem     Victor Gbenga Yusuf     Hydroelectric Power Producing Areas Development Commission     AbdulGafar Tosho     Ariyo     Amuda Bembe     T And K FOODS     Barakat Community Secondary School     Bilikis Oladimeji     Baba Issa     HICA     Trader Moni     Centre For Peace And Strategic Studies     ER-KANG Mining Nigeria Company Limited     Sherif Sagaya     Ayo Opadokun     Kayode Ogunlowo     Isiaka Alikinla     Toyosi Thomas     Pacify Labs     UNILORIN Alumni Association     Suleiman Rotimi Iliasu     Minimum Wage     Alaro     Folaranmi Aro     Jebba     Abiodun Jacob Ajiboye     Bayo Ojo     Olayinka Oladapo Jogunola     Wale Oladepo     Abiodun Oyedepo     Afusat Nike Ibrahim     Rafiu Ajakaye     Oloriegbe     Ayekale     Hikmah AbdulKareem     Sa\'adu Gambari     Police Commissioner     EFCC     Kwara State Internal Revenue Service     Halimat Yusuf     Vasolar Consultoria     ITP     Kunle Okeowo     Habeeb Abdullahi Al-Ilory     Sulyman Atolagbe Alege     Oko     Kamaldeen Ajibade     Yaru     Summit University     Abdulrasheed Lafia     Zara Umar     Nigerian Medical Association     Bilikisu Oniyangi     Abraham Ojo     Shuaib Jawondo     Saheed Akinwumi     Prince Mahe Abdulkadir     Sherif Shagaya     Bankole Omishore     Oke-Odo     Oni Adebayo     Kayode Ibrahim     Saka Saadu     QuickWin     Dagbalodo    

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Local Government Pension Board     Ibrahim Taiwo     Abdulraufu Mustapha     Irepodun     Bursary     RTEAN     Aminu Ado Bayero     Neuropsychiatric Hospital     Salihu Ajibola Ajia     Unilorin FM     Babatunde Ajeigbe     Osi     Samuel Elizabeth Keatswa     Ariyo     Oba Mogaji Abdulkadir     Tunji Moronfoye     John Obuh     Muhammed Taofeeq Abdulrazaq     Bashirat Bola Bello     Amina Susa\'a De Ahmed     Kwara Primary Health Care Development Agency     Omotosho     Press Release     MalHub     Yetunde Balogun     Olaitan Buraimoh     Yunus Oniboki     Tunde Mukaila Mustapha     Mustapha Olanipekun     Ahman Pategi University     Funke Adedoyin     Owode Market     Isiaka Danmeromu     Abdulhakeem Adelaja Amao     Madawaki Of Ilorin     Standard Organization Of Nigeria     John Olajide Adedipe     Aliyu Muhammed     Lanre Jimoh     Ayodele Shittu     Bayo Ajia     EndSARS     Bola Magaji     Mahmud Babatunde Baker     Mujtabah Bature     ASUU     Taofik Mustapha     Busari Alabi Alausa     Kwara University Of Education     Seni Saraki     CCB     Hajj     Ajibike Katibi     Toyosi Thomas     Mohammed Abduraheem     Hassan Saliu     Isiaka AbdulRazaq     Ethical College     Umaru Saro     Hausa     Alikinla     Bola Olukoju     Kassim Babamale     Hassan Taiye Salam     Abdullah Janet Amudat     Ridwan Agboola     Garba Dogo     Voices Of Tomorrow     Ladi Hassan     Post-utme     Yakubu Gobir     Baba Issa     Idris Garba     Adedayo Yusuf Abdulkareem     ENetSuD     Oladipo Akanmu Tolani