Proposed Moses Orimolade University in Omu-Aran

Date: 2012-11-21

Moses Orimolade Tunolase was born in 1879 at Ikare, now in Ondo State. He was the founder of the Cherubim and Seraphim Church and originator of Pentecostal Church in Nigeria. He began his evangelism in 1916 from his home town, Ikare. He spread the Gospel from village to village, town to town, region to region, across the whole Nation between 1916 and 1924, when he finally landed in Lagos.

After the initial predicament which hinged on a tussle between the first spiritual father, Saint Moses Orimolade Tunolase, and the then Captain Christiana Abiodun Akinsowon, the originator of Cherubim and Seraphim Church registered what was called THE ETERNAL SACRED ORDER OF CHERUBIM AND SERAPHIM SOCIETY, formally, in 1925.

Before his demise on October 18, 1933, the saint had planted both the church and the Unique Method of Worship in the hearts of numerous members across the country. Though today, there are a couple of nursery, primary, secondary and theological schools named after the late saint, many enlightened and highly concerned people from within and outside Nigeria feel that over ninety per cent of his followers have not honoured him adequately. They felt, and still feel that a standard university should be founded and named after him. “Orimolade deserved more than mere annual celebration," a university don observed.

If the Baptist Convention of Nigeria and Christ Apostolic Church could establish and name universities after their heroes, the Cherubim and Seraphim Organisation has no excuse over Moses Orimolade University(MOU). Today both Bowen and Joseph Ayo Babalola have been printed eternally at Bowen University, lwo, Osun State and Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Arakeji, Osun State.

The Seraphs must do more for their own hero as well. These observations from people had prompted some elders in the church to reason and agree to found a university in the name of Saint Moses Orimolade, now proposed as Moses Orimolade University (MOU), Omu Aran, Kwara State. After rigorous consultations, the elders agreed to put up the institution in Omu Aran, Kwara State. The town falls in North Central zone which has not been “flooded" with tertiary institutions. But what many Seraphs did not envisage was scarcity of cash needed to start the noble project!

Anywhere in the world, founding and funding a university is a very serious business. It is capital intensive project, which no sane person must attempt without proper consideration for sources of adequate cash and excellent maintainance. But after the trio of Prophet Solomon Adegboyega Alao, Professor Adebayo Sanni and Prophet Gabriel Olubunmi Fakeye had led a competent team of seraphs to the Almighty National University Commission (NUC), in Abuja, all seraphs were mandated to begin to donate a thousand Naira per head, which did not help much. It was later upgraded to twelve thousand Naira per adult member per year.

Launching and fund raising had been done in Lagos, Abuja and Ilorin, respectively towards achieving the set goal. A team was raised to sensitise and mobilise all seraphs in and outside Nigeria. While Prophet Solomon Adegboyega Alao was elected National Chairman of Supervisory Committee and Prophet Gabriel Olubunmi Fakeye the Deputy, Professor Adebayo Sanni was returned and retained as the National Chairman of the Implementation Committee. Another spiritual father, His Grace S. A. O. Adeoye, was made National Chairman, Launching and Fund Raising Committee.

The establishment of these committees set the new ball rolling for the proposed university. The three committees believed, strongly, that many Nigerians were made by God to be hospitable and generous. Second, they believe further that education is a weapon to fight poverty, wretchedness, ignorance and backwardness in any society. Third, the three committees have realised that JAMB and all the tertiary institutions, as at today, can only admit forty per cent of nation’s yearly applicants. Fourth, the committees felt that since Cherubim and Seraphim was the first pentecostal church in Nigeria, all the members in these committees resented the inability of the church to own a better university in the country for the committees knew that running a university is highly expensive. They, therefore, suggested to the would-be management team and the owners to inculcate both intensive spiritual training and self-sustaining entrepreneurial vocation, aside from the normal courses. A close study would engineer one to realise that funding education is like propagating charity!

The above analyses did inform the members to settle for the Aare Musulumi of Yoruba land, Alhaj Abdulazeez Arisekola Alao, as the chairman of the occasion, while that legal luminary and icon, Chief Afe Babalola, was elected to be the Chief Launcher on December 1, 2012.

The governors of Oyo and Osun states, Senator Isiaka Abiola Ajimobi and Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola were elected as Special Guests of Honour. Otunba Christopher Adebayo Alao-Akala, due to his interest in noble and worthy assignment, has been selected as indefatigable Guest Launcher. The wife of the Deputy Governor, Mrs Adeyemo, as Mother of the Day, was another right decision made.

Even rooting for Pastor E. A. Adeonigbagbe of Celica Church Organisation and Prophetess Mary Ogunyooye as both Spiritual Father and Mother of the Day would sustain the Tempo of prayer and divinity that day and many more years to come.

Both Dr Kayode Ajitoni of UI and Dr Olakolu who were members of one of the newly constituted committees observed that no price was too much to pay for quality education, and no price was impossib le to pay where God reigns Supreme.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Lanre Issa-Onilu     Saka Adeyemo     Ibrahim Gambari     Lai Gobir     Kwara Polytechnic     Adamu B. Yaqubu     Osi     Ayeni     Omotoso     Mohammed Tunde-Jimoh     Bolaji Abdullahi     Saka Abimbola Isau     Ajikobi     Soffiyyallah Kamaldeen     Oluranti Idowu     Hameed Oladipupo Ali     Dogara     Esinrogunjo     Musibau Akanji     Ladi Hassan     Yusuf Abubakar     Kayode Issa     Ahmed     Quranic Recitation Competition     Aminat Ahmed     Tsado Manman     Moshood Mustapha     Abdulfatah Ahmed     Funke Adedoyin     Tafida Of Kaiama     Wole Oke     BIR     Oke-Kura     Idris Garuba     Yomi Ogunsola     Buari Edun     Yahaya Abdulkareem     Kayode Ogunlowo     Ashiru     Olokoba     Odolaye Aremu     Chemiroy Nigeria Limited     Esuwoye     Orisun Igbomino     Abikan     Malete     Femi Ogunsola     Kunle Suleiman     Ejidongari     Abubakar Aliagan     SGBN     Ope Saraki     Charles Ibitoye     Abdulazeez Arowona     Al-Ilory     Yinka Aluko     Ishaq Salman     Omoniyi M. Ayinla     Afolayan     Lanre Aremu     Tope Daramola     Dairo Kunle Paul     Aro Yahaya     GRA     Abdulrahman Abdulrazak     Jaiz Bank     SUBEB     Sulyman Buhari     Kwara State Infrastructure Development Fund     Aisha Buhari     Baruten     Cassava Growers' Association     JAAC     Kayode Ibrahim     Yahaya A Paniyaro     Agbarigidoma     Biliaminu Aliu