EFCC probes ex-Kwara officials, civil servants for N10bn fraud

Date: 2019-07-03
The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission has said that it saved the Kwara State Government N10bn thst would have been lost to politicians and civil servants before the May 29, 2019, handover to a new administration in the state.

The anti-graft agency said it had commenced investigation of the individuals involved in the attempted fraud.

The Head of the Ilorin Zonal Office of the commission, Mr Isyaku Sharu, disclosed this on Tuesday, while speaking with journalists in Ilorin.

Sharu said the anti-graft agency mounted surveillance on the state government's accounts few days to the handover and was able to save the state about N10bn, which it got from the Federal Government, to misappropriation by government officials.

He stated, "It has always been a tradition in the country that whenever any government is exiting, it will indulge in massive pilferage as a last-minute golden opportunity, hence our resolve to mount a surveillance on all Kwara State Government accounts between May 24 and 29, 2019 when the state received money from the Federation Account Allocation Committee, Joint Account Allocation Committee, Value Added Tax and tax refunds from the Federal Government to the tune of about N10bn.

"I can authoritatively tell you that we saved the state a last-minute attempted financial misappropriation of those billions."

Sharu also said that many former and serving officials of the state government, including civil servants, were being investigated by the commission, adding, "Officials, who ordinarily are supposed to guard and protect state resources have turned out to misappropriate them.

"To this end, the commission beamed its searchlight on the Kwara State officials and based on a credible tip-off, the commission is currently investigating over 15 properties in choice areas within the Ilorin metropolis ranging from hotels, filling stations to residential accommodation.

"It will shock you to hear that the alleged owners are civil servants, whose 6earninngs per month are not more than N90,000."

The zonal head also said that the commission had gone after Internet fraudsters, whose ages range from 18 to 25 years, and had charged over 29 to court, including an herbalist, Jamiu Isiaka, who allegedly impersonated the Group Managing Director of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation and the Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media to defraud a Korean of N30m.

Sharu said the commission had secured 15 convictions with the court ordering the forfeiture of exotic cars and money running into millions of naira in the bank accounts of the fraudsters to the Federal Government.

He added that the EFCC had returned over N50m to the victims of fraud and "these include those recoveries from some state legislators, who allegedly duped some people."




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Halimat Yusuf     Yoonus Lawal     Joseph Daudu     International Aviation College     Www.Kwarareports.com     National Association Of Nigerian Students     Otunba Taiwo Joseph     JAMB     Abdulrazaq Adebayo     Balogun Fulani     Gbajabiamila     Muftau Akanbi Oke     Yusuf Aiyedun     Ishola Abdullahi     Muideen Olaniyi Alalade     Alao Ayotunde     Hajj     Ogbondoroko     Esinrogunjo     Kwara Hotel     Haliru Yahaya     Baakini     Oni Adebayo     Abdulrahman Iliasu     Erubu Oba Zubair     Kudirat Arinola Lawal     Bureau Of Lands     Is'haq Modibbo Kawu     Daud Adeshola     Ejidongari     Alabe     Cassava Growers' Association     Dogara     Iqra Books     Mahmud Babatunde Baker     Gobir     Isiaka Saka Opobiyi     Kupchi Hosea Maxwell     LAK Jimoh     Modibbo Kawu     Dairo Kunle Paul     Apaola     Sulyman Age AbdulKareem     Yusuf Abubakar     Goodluck Jonathan     Oke-Ogun     BIR     Agboola Babatunde     Gobirawa     Ajeigbe     Ibrahim Issa Jetti     Abdul-Rasheed Na'Allah     Amina Susa'a De Ahmed     Ganmo     Ibrahim Oniye     Yunus Lawal     Usman Rifun     Lawan     Idris Garba     Sa'ad Alanamu     Federal Polytechnic Offa     Garba Ayodele Wahab     Amoyo     Femi Ogunsola     Kayode Ibrahim     Ibrahim Abiodun     Jimoh Olusola Imam     Kulende-UITH     Salman Alada     Olushola Saraki     Aliyu Salihu     Oko-Erin     Ezekiel Yissa Benjamin     Salake     NTA Ilorin     Irepodun     Mahmud Durosinlohun Atiku