Ilorin Court: Bribery Giver, Collector Bag 24-year Jail Term...Fined N25mn

Date: 2019-05-31
The Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC), has secured 12 years jail term for both Dr. Saad Alanamu, a former Chairman of the Governing Council of Kwara State Polytechnic, Ilorin, and Salman Sulaiman, the Chief Executive Director of Namylas Nig. Ltd, for collecting and giving a bribe respectively.

The convicts had earlier been arraigned before Honourable Justice Mahmud Abdulgafar of Kwara State High Court 9 sitting in Ilorin on an 8-count charge for bribery.

The offences contravened sections 8 (1) (a), 9 (1) (a), 10 (a) (i), 18 (b), 19 and 22 (1) (a) (i) and punishable under sections 8 (1) (a) (ii), 9 (1) (b), 10 (a) (ii), 18 (d), 19, and 22 (6) of the Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Act, 2000 respectively. They had pleaded not guilty to all the charges brought against them.

Dr. Alanamu who was nominated into the Board of ICPC in 2017 but was later dropped on an allegation of corruption which the Commission was investigating, was charged for collecting N5,000,000:0 million bribe from a contractor friend of his as kickback for the award of a contract. Sulaiman, on the other hand, was accused of bribing a government official when he paid the said sum of money into Alanamu's Guaranty Trust Bank account as a reward for the award of contract to his company.

Counsel to ICPC had averred that Namylas Nig. Ltd had submitted falsified and doctored documents during the bidding process.

The court was also informed of how Alanamu ensured that the contract for the construction and furnishing of an auditorium in Kwara State Polytechnic, at the cost of N182,369,625:00, was awarded to a company belonging to his friend when it was not qualified to execute the contract.

The prosecution, having established very strong evidence of collusion, bid rigging and corrupt practices against the accused, urged the court to mete out appropriate sanctions to them.

Having considered the totality of evidence adduced by the prosecution in the course of the trial, and recognizing that it had discharged the burden of proof placed upon it by law beyond reasonable doubt, the trial judge in his ruling, found Dr. Alanamu guilty and sentenced him to seven years imprisonment on counts 2 and 3, and five years with hard labour on counts 1, 4, and 5, without an option of fine. He was also ordered to pay the sum of N25 million pursuant to Section 20 of the ICPC law which states: “Without prejudice to any sentence of imprisonment imposed under this Act, a Public Officer or other person found guilty of soliciting, offering or receiving gratification shall forfeit the gratification and pay a fine of not less than five times the sum of the value of the gratification which is the subject-matter of the offence...

Justice Abdulgafar further found Sulaiman guilty on counts 5 and 6, and sentenced him to five and seven years imprisonment respectively. The third defendant which is the company has been ordered to pay a fine of N1 million. All the sentences are to run concurrently.

Signed: Mrs. Rasheedat A. Okoduwa, mni

Spokesperson for the Commission




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Post-utme     Abdulfatai Salman Baakini     Amusa Bello     Moses Salami     Suleman Abubakar     Alapado     Mohammed Kamaludeen     Oluwole Dupe     Yinka Aluko     Split Diamond Interchange     Bamikole Omishore     V.O. Abioye     Cassava Growers' Association     Salman Alada     Olomu Of Omu-Aran     Kayode Ogunlowo     Alimi Abdulrazaq     Kwara United     Oba Sulaiman Asude     Taiwo Joseph     Minister     Ibrahim Abdullahi     Lawan     Government House     Mohammed Katsina Ahmed     Babatunde Idiagbon     Tunde Oyawoye     Abdulraufu Mustapha     Ajeigbe     Abdulbaqi Jimoh     Jimoh Akani     AbdulGaniyu Kareem     Oke-Oyi     Oloyede     Oko     Erin-ile     Ilorin Amusement Park     Razak Atunwa     Revenue Court     KWTV     Balogun Gambari     Idofin     Saka Adeyemo     College Of Arabic And Islamic Legal Studies     Modibo Kawu     Fatai Adeniyi Garba     Ilorin International Airport     Kwara Pdp     Alabere     Femtech     Mohammed Alabi Lawal     Mohammed Tunde-Jimoh     John Dara     Baruten     Quranic Recitation Competition     Kale Ayo     Kayode Zubair     Ope Saraki     Cornelius Adebayo     GRA     Surajudeen Akanbi     Abdulrahman Abdulrazak     Tsaragi-Share     Idowu Aremu     Moses Adekanye     Temitope Ogunbanke     Nurudeen Muhammed     Aliyu Olatunji Ajanaku     Bashirat Bola Bello     Valsolar Consortium     Aisha Buhari     Bello Bature     Tosin Saraki     Ayinde Oyepitan     Ayo Opadokun     Oba Abu