2019 Polls: Kwara governor disowns fake campaign posters

Date: 2019-02-07

Gov. Abdulfatah Ahmed of Kwara has disowned campaign posters circulating in parts of the state promoting him as the Kwara South Senatorial Candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The governor spoke via a statement by his Senior Special Assistant on Media and Communications, Dr Muyideen Akorede.

Ahmed described the posters as fake since they were not approved, sanctioned or sponsored by him as he was no longer the PDP Kwara South Senatorial candidate.

He said that he stood by his earlier decision to concede the PDP Kwara South Senatorial ticket to the incumbent, Senator Rafiu Ibrahim, in the interest of equity and fairness.

Ahmed added that he subsequently formally withdrew from the Senatorial race in full compliance with the provisions and processes specified by the Electoral Act.

Ahmed said that on the basis of that decision, he had since campaigned for Senator Ibrahim and could, therefore, not have authorised the fake campaign posters.

He accused the opposition party, All Progressives Congress' candidate, of masterminding the circulation of the fake posters in an attempt to cause confusion.

He reiterated that the PDP was poised for victory at all levels in the forthcoming general elections.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

CUTI     Kwara     Muhammed Abdullahi     Saka Saadu     Akande Idowu Ayoola Muhammed     Maryam A. Garuba     Wole Oke     Muftau Akanbi Oke     Susan Modupe Oluwole     College Of Health     Gbenga Olawepo     Valsolar Consultoria     Umar Sanda Yusuf     Bayo Ajia     Eruku     Gobirawa     Mohammed Abdulahi     Ladi Hassan     NYSC     Tsaragi/Share     Abubakar Suleiman     LAK Jimoh     Jimoh Akani     Abdullahi Adisa Akodudu     Odogun Olushola Gabriel     Millennium Development Goals     Baakini     Ibrahim Issa Jetti     Umar Ahmed Gunu     Vasolar Consultoria     Habeeb Saidu     Salary     Onikijipa     Shoprite     Chemiroy Nigeria Limited     Garba Ayodele Wahab     Wasiu Odewale     Muyiwa Oladipo Kanu     Abdulhakeem Adelaja Amao     Abdulrazak Shehu Akorede     Code Of Conduct Bureau     Pategi     Monsurat Omotosho     Onilu     Amosa     Abdulrahman Abdulrasak     Sandal     Kamaldeen Ajibade     Abdulsalam A. Yusuf     Esinrogunjo     Ibrahim Oniye     Ilorin West/Asa Federal Constituency     Roseline Oni Aremu     Ahmad Ali     Fatai Olodo     Shehu Alimi Foundation     Modibbo Kawu     Sarafadeen Kayode Akorede     George Innih     LEAH Charity Foundation     Bayo Onimago     Plat Technologies     Sabo-Oke     Igbomina     Oba Of Jebba     Share/Tsaragi     Ahmad Uthman     Suleiman Idris     Toyin Saraki     Abdullahi Atanda     Mustapha Akanbi     Bashirat Bola Bello     Bilikisu Oniyangi     Ilorin East     Buari Edun     Yomi Ogunsola     Ohoro Of Shao