Kwara ex-councillors protest against non payment of entitlements

Date: 2018-12-24

Former councillors in Kwara state have protested against non payment of their entitlements by the state government.

The ex-councillors who are members of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the state also threatened to dump the party should the state government fail to settle their severance packages.

The councillors served between 2013 and 2016 across 16 Local Government Areas of the state.

The affected PDP members include 166 councillors, 80 supervisory councillors 16 secretaries and 16 vice chairmen.

Spokesman of the group Bisi Oloyede told The Nation that the concerned members had taken several steps to resolve the issue amicably without success.

Oloyede noted that Governor AbdulFatah Ahmed had promised several times to address the problems but all to no avail.

"The Senate President, Bukola Saraki who is also the leader of the party has equally promised to find lasting solution to this problem, but yet unresolved," he added.

The aggrieved ex- councillors regretted their unalloyed loyalty to both the party and Senate President, threatening to go to any length if their issues are not quickly addressed.

He warned that if no step is taking to address the issue, they may be forced to take drastic actions against the wish of the party.

He urged the government to do the needful by paying all their entitlements within the shortest reasonable period of time to retain their membership in the party.

"We built PDP structure together. We love our party and the dynasty, but unfortunately we are disappointed for their negligence on our issues," he said.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Sola Saraki University     Vasolar Consortium     Kudirat Arinola Lawal     Modibo Kawu     Riskat Opakunle     Abdulrahman Iliasu     KWACOBPA     Egbejila     Isiaka Oniwa     Abdulmumin Yinka Ajia     Gbugbu     Monsurat Omotosho     Ahmed Alhasssan     Sunday Fagbemi     Tope Daramola     Babaita     Oniyangi     2017 Budget     Oasis Muslim Care Foundation     Shehu Salau     Raimi Iyanda     Babata     Sheriff Olanrewaju     Shonga Farm Project     Afonja     Yahaya Abdulkareem     Adebara     Quranic Recitation Competition     Iyiola Oyedepo     BIR     Apaokagi     AbdulHamid Adi     Emir Of Ilorin     Y.A. Abdulkareem     Ramadan     Allocation     Mohammed Kamaludeen     Moses Adekanye     Seni Saraki     Baakini     Saadu Alanamu     Abdullahi G. Mohammad     Baba-Isale     Gbemi Saraki     Al-Adaby     Oke-Ero     Kwabes     Abdulkadir Orire     Oyun     Mohammed Haruna     Omoniyi M. Ayinla     Savannah Centre For Diplomacy, Democracy And Development     Olateju Lukman     Jaiz Bank     Abdullahi Imam Abdullahi     Sanusi Abubakar     Alfa Belgore     Kwarareports     Salihu Yahaya     Mahmud Durosinlohun Atiku     Sobi FM     Yakubu Shaaba     Irepodun     Alaiye     Soffiyyallah Kamaldeen     Abdulazeez Uthman     Kupchi Hosea Maxwell     Biliaminu Aliu     Hijab     Aisha Buhari     Kwara Liberation Group     Kunle Okeowo     A.G.F Abdulrasaq     Modupe Oluwole     Ezekiel Yissa Benjamin     Daud Adeshola