Promote Igbomina culture, Arinde tells youths

Date: 2016-06-14

A Lecturer in the Department of the Performing Arts, University of Ilorin, Dr Tayo Arinde, has admonished Igbomina students in the University to contribute to the promotion of the cultural excellence of the Igbomina people.

Dr Arinde, who made the appeal penultimate Saturday (June 4, 2016) while speaking at the Igbomina Day celebration organised by the University of Ilorin Chapter of the Igbomina Students Union, said it was regrettable that "most children from Igbomina roots cannot speak our language and do not know our mode of dressing".

Pointing out that Igbomina "has very rich cultural platform and, our language is unique", the don urged Igbomina youths to be passionate about Igbomina culture. He also encouraged parents to inculcate Igbomina culture in their children and always take them home to know their roots.

In his address, the National President, Omo Ibile Igbomina, Engr. Timothy Adebayo, disclosed that the Association was planning to amend its constitution to give the youths more recognition.

The National President, who was represented by the Vice President of the Association, Mr. Teju Oguntoye, also called for a synergy between the staff and students of the University in order to promote love and unity.

Earlier in his welcome address, the President of the Igbomina Students' Union, Tosin Adedoyin, enjoined all Igbomina students in the University of Ilorin to continue to eschew violence, examination malpractices and other anti-social behaviour.

Among the dignitaries at the event were the Treasurer, Omo Ibile Igbomina, Alhaji Abdulrasaq Jimoh, the Publicity/Social Secretary of Omo Ibile Igbomina, Comrade Oni Martins, and the Legal Adviser II, Omo Ibile Igbomina, Mr. Damilola Obadimeji.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Solomon Edoja     NULGE     Olatunde Olukoya     Iqra Books     Lanre Aremu     Kwarareports     Laolu Saraki     Hijab     Ganmo     Abdulwahab Ololele     David Adesina     Ilota     Kwara North     Ayo Opadokun     Abubakar Baba Sulaiman     Bature Bello     Ramadhan     Abdulkadri Ahmad Alaiye     Sheikh Alimi     Matthew Babaoye     COEASU     Ashiru     KSIRS     April 11     MMWG     Rapheal Ashaolu     SGBN     High Court     Jamiu Oyawoye     Makama     Bankole Omisore     Akande Idowu Ayoola Muhammed     Share-Tsaragi     Idowu Aremu     Yakub Lai Gobir     Omotoso     Tsado Manman     Bayo Lawal     Oyawoye     Esinrogunjo     Moji Makanjuola     Ahmad Uthman     Malete     Goodluck Jonathan     AGF Abdulrazak     S.O. Opowoye     Oja-Oba     Savannah Centre For Diplomacy, Democracy And Development     Omoniyi M. Ayinla     Tunde Saad     Senate     Ilorin International Airport     Saadu Alanamu     Kudirat Arinola Lawal     Quareeb     Yusuf Abdulkadir     QuickWin     Alapado     Lawan     Jimoh Saadudeen Muhammed     Oasis Muslim Care Foundation     Medview Airlines     Yusuf Aiyedun     Moses Salami     Ilorin Water Reticulation     Salihu Alhaji Musa     Saidu Yaro Musa     Abdulrazak Shehu Akorede     Kwara South     Atunwa     Yusuf Abubakar     Hameed Oladipupo Ali     Ajase-Ipo     NAWOJ     Vasolar Consortium     Funmi Salau     Valsolar