Kogi Central 2015: Hamza Usman Joins Senate Race

Date: 2014-11-24

Eighty Seven days to 2015 general elections, the battle for senate in Kogi Central district took a new dimension as Alhaji Hamza Usman joins the race to replace current senator Nurudeen Abatemi-Usman at the upper arm of the National Assembly.

The former aide to the governor of Kwara State, who is running on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), has promised to effect positive change in quality of people representation, if given the opportunity to serve at the National Assembly.

Hamza, who pledged to give purposeful servitude with the aim of improving the level of youth re-orientation  in Kogi Central senatorial district and the state at large, condemned the prevailing situation where a large population of the youth aren’t appropriately focused on development in the district.
Speaking to journalists, after picking the nomination form and expression of interest, Hamza called on his supporters to be civil, as respect for the electorate and the electioneering process is the hallmark of democratic practices.

He said, “my entrance into the race marks a new era for Kogi Central. I promise to serve through an open door policy that would ensure a two- way communication process between the elected and the electorates. I choose my words carefully as I mean them. Th e senatorial mission isn’t a job opportunity, but an errand by the people, and for the people, hence, anyone so sent, must as a matter of expediency deliver back to the people for their entrenched trust. In this regard, respect for people’s opinion, yearnings, and collective aspiration is fundamental and must be taken to account by running people centric constituency projects, policies and strategies. For their trust and votes, one must qualitatively ensure the feeling of belonging, and this I can confidently commit to ensuring”

Hamza also promised to be a veritable and reliable bridge between elders and the youth.

"There are established institutions by culture, and indeed, even in grassroot politics. One must adequately acknowledge these class and groups, towards ensuring peace which predicates progress. Everyone is important, and everyone should have a say. Even if one intends to bring forth a constituency project, ideally, it shouldn’t be imposed on people of the area, because only the people from each locality can appropriately outline their own needs. Involving respective stakeholders and their constituents in decision making on issues is the only viable democratic route to impacting positively in communities and lives people there-in. People deserve to feel dividends of democracy, but as it currently prevails, we dearly need a breath of fresh air in Kogi Central, and God willing, by people’s choice we shall achieve it.”

Where the State Government has been sincere to purpose and are rolling out several developmental projects, it’s unfortunate that the reality on ground is that people aren’t happy with the central government. This is undoubtedly due only to the endemic failure of the peoples representative at local levels and their legislators who are supposed to be closest to their people and are ideally supposed to compliment the efforts of the State and Federal govt. This is unfair to a hardworking and committed Governor such as His Excellency, Capt Idris Wada. This has to change.”



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

First Lady     Royal FM     Saka Isau     Air Peace     Samuel Adaramola     Afolabi-Oshatimehin     Ayodele Shittu     Kwara State Fish Farmers Association     Rebecca Bake     Dele Momodu     Vasolar-Kwara Company Ltd     Kwara State Coalition Of Business And Professional Associations     Face Masks     Tunji Arosanyin     Dauda Adeniran Adeshola     Abdullahi G. Mohammad     Olabode George Towoju     Folorunsho Alao     Fatai Adeniyi Garba     Ekiti     Ilorin Talaka Parapo (ITP)     Saliu Ajia     Ibrahim Oloriegbe     Kishira     Asiwaju Bola Tinubu     Mohammed Haruna     Wahab Agbaje     Quareeb Islamic Association     Danladi     Ramadhan     Omotoso Musa     Abiodun Abdulkareem     Otunba Taiwo Joseph     Volunteers Of Ilorin Community And The Emirate     Hassan Saliu     AbdulQowiy Olododo     Baba Isale     Elerinjare-Ibobo     Mohammed Lawal     JAAC     Odolaye Aremu     Ilorin Central Mosque     Umar Bayo Abdulwahab     Emmanuel Bello     Mohammed Alabi Lawal     Amuda Musbau     Omotosho     Towoju     Umar Saro     Elerin Of Erin-Ile     Muhammadu Buhari     Iyabo Adewuyi     Muslim Media Watch Group Of Nigeria     Salami Adekunle     NURTW     Ibrahim Abdulkadir Abikan     Falokun-Oja     Abdulsalam Firdaous Amosa     Aliyu U. Tilde     Niyi Ogundiran     High Court     Okanlawon Taiwo     Mutawali Of Ilorin     Isau     Kawu Baraje     08001000100     EFCC     Folajimi Aleshinloye     Idi-Ape     Students Union Government     PAACO-PCL Consortium     Reuben Paraje     Hamidat Sulyman-Yusuf     Senate     Ahmed Ayinla Jimoh     Jebba     Ahmad Ali    

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Victor Gbenga Yusuf     Saliu Tunde Bello     Code Of Conduct Bureau     Tanke     Sa\'adu Salau     Kwara TV     Mohammed Tunde-Jimoh     Agboola Abdulraheem     Asiwaju Bola Tinubu     Ahman Pategi     Mutawalle     Abdulrasheed Lafia     Col. Taiwo     Ahmed Bayero     Students Union Government     Ajidagba     Budo-Egba     All Peoples Party     Omoniyi     Ahmed Ayinla Jimoh     Omoniyi M. Ayinla     AbdulKareem Yusuf Danhawa     Ilota     Femi Ogunsola     Kisra     Borgu     Bola Tinubu     Neo Mundo Ltd     Suleiman Ajadi     Durbar     National Pilot     Ahman Pategi University     Afolabi-Oshatimehin Adenike Harriet     Akume     Gbemisola Saraki     Kwara Metro Park     KWSIEC     Halidu Danbaba     Tunde Akanbi     Kwara Restoration Project     Ayekale     Abubakar Imam     Council Of The Wise     Bolaji Nagode     Elerinjare-Ibobo     Balogun Ajikobi     Onilupeju Of Ilupeju     Umar Yakubu Jaja     M.Y. Abdulrahaman     Zainab Abass     Isiaka Danmeromu     Abdulmumin Yinka Ajia     Amuda Bembe     Yusuf AbdulRasheed     Olufolake Abdulrazaq     Segun Abifarin     Suleiman Yahya Alapansapa     Ilesha-Gwanara     Iyabo Adewuyi     Kale Ayo     Issa Manzuma     Mohammed Yahaya Barki     Umar Gunu     Isin     Salman Jawondo     Hajj     Salihu Yahaya     Maja     Oluwole Dupe     Folajimi Aleshinloye     20 Billion Bond     Gabriel Fashanu     Titus Suberu-Ajibola     Saadatu Modibbo-Kawu     KwaraLearn     Oke-Kura     Kayode Yusuf