OPINION: Radio Kwara and her many seasonal names. By Aliyu Olatunji Ajanaku

Date: 2019-05-28

I don't know how very partisan Radio Kwara was during Adamu Attah but of course the station must have gone through very divided loyalty during the Saalaake (cut it with axe) of Adamu Attah/Akanbi Oniyangi with backing from palace and Federal might in the red corner Vs Saraki (lone fighter) in the blue corner. Somehow I suspected the station tilted to Saraki in a way because in 1983, when Chief C O Adebayo was declared as winner, Radio Kwara relayed it. There was no nickname for the station, so to say. What's more, there was no competition.

During Shaaba, nothing much affected the station. Opposition was weak. They had no time for nicknaming Radio Kwara. Saraki was fully in charge.

Now came Gov Mohammed Lawal. As at this time, Gov Lawal was popular and even Baba Saraki declared him a "good boy". Then the intrigues began. Party Chairman of blessed memory and some leaders who were finding Lawal impenetrable began their scheming. Before you could say Jack Robinson, ANPP in Kwara became fictionalised. Upon realizing the power of Radio, Gov Lawal seized control of the station, fired Modibo in KWTV and merged the two stations under the leadership of seasoned broadcaster, Hajjia Mairo Mustapha. At that point Radio Kwara got a nickname, "Ile Ise Awon Mero". (Mairo's workplace). Guess who gave the nickname? Gov Lawal himself.

By the time Gov Saraki took over, several heads rolled. Nakeeb of Madrasat Mohammed, Dr Aliagan and Dr Olohunoyin were denied airtime on Radio Kwara, AbdulFattah Dan Kazeem was whisked out of the place and transferred to an obscure desk in Ministry of Information and others victims. Then for 16 straight years, Radio Kwara acquired a new nickname - "Radio Agbaji". That era will terminate on May 29th, 2019, In sha Allah. While the media terror lasted, the fortune of the state owned radio station began to dwindle as competition came with vigour. Harmony FM came in first, followed by Royal FM around 2011, then Unilorin Radio and many others later, particularly the super popular Sobi FM. Even with so-called world class equipment that Dr Akorede claimed to have bought for Radio Kwara and KWTV, still Radio Agbaji could not raise her head. Over time, many of the broadcasters there became partisan, leaning towards Sarakism. The station aired the jingle, "Bukola Saraki Aso Wa Ni", many more times than any other stations at a time that you would want to believe that most likely the airtime was being given out freely. Who pays the Piper dictates the tune, of course. The misfortune that affected Radio Kwara did not spare The Herald Newspapers as well as the Kwara TV.

On May 29th, 2019, alliances will change again. The songs will change. The next four years, will definitely witness a 180 degrees turn. Will the station become "Radio Idi Igba"? If it does become, will it affect it's fortune? Only time will tell.

But honestly, change is good sha.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Adam Abdullahi Al-Ilory     Baba Isale     Yusuf A. Usman     Moses Afolayan     Bola Iyabo Ibiyeye Adisa     Abubakar B.M     Zaratu Umar     KWTV     Unilorin     Sobi Specialist Hospital     Firdaos Amasa     Segun Olawoyin     Gbajabiamila     Vasolar Consultoria     Adamu B. Yaqubu     Iqra Books     AGF Abdulrazak     Abdulkadir Orire     Third Estate     Abdulkadir Remi Hawawu     Olatunji Bamgbola     Sarafadeen Kayode Akorede     Boko Haram     Kayode Issa     NULGE     EFCC     Quran     Bamidele Adegoke     Bio Ibrahim     Yusuf Amuda Abubakar     Senate President     Dauda Adeniran Adeshola     BIR     Kale Ayo     Oniye     Erin-ile     Joseph Yemi Ajayi     Abdulsalam Firdaous Amosa     Haliru Dantoro     2017 Budget     Amuda Aluko     KWIRS     Gobirawa     Kannike     Mashood Dauda     Revenue Court     Bamikole Omishore     Olaosebikan     Dogara     Olomu     Ibrahim Issa Jetti     Agbarigidoma     Amoyo     Oyelere Oyinloye     Ayodele Olaosebikan     Shonga Farm Project     Shagari     Monsurat Omotosho     Abdulwahab Ololele     Mohammed Lawal     Irepodun     Share     Senate Presidency     Ayinde Oyepitan     Tayo Alao     Oba Of Jebba     COEASU     Ijagbo     Shao     Mamatu Abdullahi     Seni Saraki     The Herald     Oba Abdulrahim     International Aviation College     Amosa     Eleyele     Kayode Ogunlowo