Nigeria Labour Congress Get New Boss In Kwara

Date: 2019-04-26

The chairman, Kwara chapter of the National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW), Alhaji Issa Ore, has emerged as the new chairman of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) in Kwara.

Naija News Learnt that Ore defeated Dr Davies Ehindero of the Agriculture and Allied Employees’ Union of Nigeria (AAEUN), to form a new executive council alongside others, who were returned unopposed.

Alhaji Najeem Yasin, the Returning Officer for the state while declaring the result at the close of the 12th Quadrennial State Delegates Conference in Ilorin, said that Ore polled 253 votes to defeat Ehindero, who garnered 65 votes.

Yasin, who is also the National Deputy President of the NLC, said that there were 307 accredited delegates from 19 industrial unions that participated in the exercise. The NLC leader commended the delegates for their peaceful conduct throughout the period of the exercise.

He expressed confidence in the ability of the new executive to deliver and make the state council of the labour union a robust and progressive one.

Yasin, who also is the National President of the NURTW, expressed delight that for the second time in the history of the country, an official of the transport union emerged a state chairman of the NLC.

He noted that the victory was for him and all members of the transport union in the country.

NAN reports that other members of the new executives are Mr Muritala Saheed and Yusuf Ayinla as Vice Chairman I and II respectively; Rafiu Adeniran as Treasurer.

Others are Salihu Idris and Owoeye Olusina as Auditor I and II respectively, while Yomi Ibiwoye and Idowu Oladipo were elected Ex-officio I and II.

In his acceptance speech, the new NLC chairman in Kwara promised to carry every member along in the scheme of things as every hand would be on deck to tackle all the outstanding workers' issues in the state.

"As the conference has come and gone, there is no winner and there is no loser as this is an indivisible congress where all of us are of the same family.

"I promise that I will be making necessary consultation before taking decision on workers' demands and problems, and the congress under my leadership will not take any irrational decision on issues," he said.

Ore noted that the N30, 000 new minimum wage was a must pay to all categories of workers in the state, local government and pensioners alike without disparity or amputation of any sort.

Meanwhile, in another development, The Court of Appeal sitting over the case of eligibility of Senator Ademola Adeleke in the September 2018 governorship election has adjourned till the 2nd of May 2019.

The adjournment is on the request of the counsel to Senator Adeleke, to allow for amendments to observations made by the second respondent over some missing pages in the processes filed, which is responsible for the delay in filing his brief of argument.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Laolu Saraki     Maryam A. Garuba     Oba Abu     Yusuf Olaolu Ali     Abdulahi Abubakar Bata     Amuda Bembe     Oniwasi Agbaye     ARMTI     High Court     Egbejila     Millennium Development Goals     Abubakar Baba Sulaiman     Chemiroy Nigeria Limited     Jamiu Oyawoye     Henry Olaosebikan     Matthew Babaoye     Ahmad Uthman     Habeeb Saidu     Wale Oladepo     Abdulkadir Orire     Kwara Liberation Group     Issa Oloruntogun     KWTV     Ndakene     Mamman Saba Jibril     GRA     Baba-Isale     MMWG     Vasolar Consortium     David Adesina     Abdulrazaq Adebayo     Ayo Opadokun     Sulyman Buhari     Mamatu Abdullahi     Idofin     Illyasu Abdullahi     Olatunji Ibrahim     Abikan     Oko     Adebayo Salami     Is'haq Modibbo Kawu     John Dara     Dairo Kunle Paul     Sunday Fagbemi     Baaziki Sulaiman     Taofeek Sanusi     Olusola Saraki     Offa Descendants Union     Gbemi Saraki     Quareeb     Adesoye     Alfa Modibo Belgore     Afonja Descendants Union     Kwara State Government     Police Commissioner     Dele Belgore     Soffiyyallah Kamaldeen     Shaaba Lafiagi     Salake     Owode Market     Babatunde Idiagbon     Moses Adekanye     Sam Okaula     Eleja     Ilorin Muslim Community     Sola Saraki University     Al-Ilory     Saliu Alamoyo     Adisa Logun     Olokoba Abdullahi Ayinla     Ganmo     International Vocational Centre     Omotosho     Akande Idowu Ayoola Muhammed     Omu Aran     Roseline Oni Aremu     Modibbo Kawu