Civil Society Urges Buhari to Intervene on Saudi Impose 2,000 SR Hajj/Umrah Fee

Date: 2018-10-22

A civil society organization, Independent Hajj Reporters, IHR, has called on President Muhammadu Buhari to appeal to Saudi Arabia to waive the SR2,000 tax imposed on visa for Umrah and Hajj pilgrims for Nigeria pilgrims.

The waiver, if granted, can enable more Nigerian Muslims to perform Hajj/Umrah with ease.

The new visa rule was released in August 2016 and became operational on October 2 2016.

It states that "a one-time entry visa fee will be SR2,000, but the state will bear this fee if a visitor is coming to the Kingdom for the first time to perform Hajj or Umrah.

"A six-month multiple-entry visa cost 3,000 Saudi Riyals (SR), a one year multiple-entry visa cost SR5000, while a two-year multiple-entry visa cost SR8000".

This was contained in a statement jointly signed by IHR national coordinator Ibrahim Muhammed and Publicity Secretary, Abubakar Mahmoud

IHR has observed that religious Ministry of Pakistan recently informed the country's Senate that Saudi Arabia has agreed to abolish Umrah tax of SR 2,000 on Pakistan Pilgrims.

The approval, followed a request made by Pakistani Prime Minister, Imram Khan when he visited Saudi Crown Prince, Mohammed Bin Salman recently.

Pakistan is not only the country that has enjoyed this waiver as Egypt and Turkey Umrah repeaters within one year are also excluded from paying the SR 2,000.

The statement said that "Nigeria occupies number one position in Africa in terms of numbers of pilgrims that perform Hajj/ Umrah and therefore deserve special consideration from the Saudi Arabia government.

"In addition, the excellent hajj arrangements by Nigeria in recent years have been acknowledged by way of commendations by Saudi Arabian government and therefore deserve a special treatment as extended to other countries mentioned above".

"In view of the above, we urge Mr. President to on behalf of millions of Nigerian Muslim Ummah plead with Saudi Arabia to waive the SR2,000 Hajj/Umrah fee for repeaters so as allow millions of intending pilgrims to fulfill their religious obligations".

The statement adds that "there has been uneasiness on the part of Tour Operators and intending Hajj/Umrah Pilgrims over the new rule.

According to the new policy, whoever performs Umrah in consecutive Hijri years will have to pay a charge on the second time they apply for a visa.

“So that means if one goes to Umrah at the beginning of a Hijri year, they would have to actually wait for virtually two full years before they can do another one without paying the additional fee.

Apart from the SR2000 Visa Fee, there have been increases across the board in all hajj/umrah expenses by authorities in Saudi Arabia.

The new levies include accommodation as well as a new VAT tax of 5% on everything paid for in the Kingdom.

"It is our hope that Mr. President will heed our call and intervene on behalf of millions of intending pilgrims". The statement added.


Independent Hajj Reporters

21st October 2018



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Tanke     Millennium Development Goals     Mufutau Gbadamosi Esuwoye     Ojo Fadumila     Saidu Kawu     Shagari     Simeon Sule Ajibola     Saidu Yaro Musa     Abdulkadir Remi Hawawu     Aminat Omodara     Olayinka Olaogun     Fatai Garuba Labaka     Lai Gobir     Olatunji Ibrahim     Ijakadi     Mufutau Olatinwo     08001000100     Imam Gambari     Valsolar     Alagbado     Sulyman Buhari     Bolakale Ayo     Halimat Yusuf     Muhammadu Buhari     Afonja Descendants Union     Abdulwahab Oba     Garba Ado Sanni     Ishola Abdullahi     Saliu Alamoyo     Sidikat Uthman Ajibola     GANZY     Baboko     AbdulRauf Keji     Halidu Danbaba     Micheal Imoudu     Apaokagi     Tafidan Kaiama     Y.A. Abdulkareem     Vasolar Consultoria     Ibrahim Abiodun     Makama     Laolu Saraki     Kayode Oyin-Zubair     Durosinlohun Atiku     Oba Abu     Ibrahim Bio     Ilorin Central Mosque     Kulende-UITH     Idofin     Basit Olatunji     Unilorin     Alao Ayotunde     Saraki     Centre For Peace And Strategic Studies     Tsaragi     Yusuf Aiyedun     Laduba     Gbemisola Saraki     Ramadhan     Babatunde Idiagbon     Oasis Muslim Care Foundation     Gbenga Awoyale     Obasanjo     Lafiagi     Babata     Sebastine Obasi     Kwara Muslim Pilgrims Welfare Board     Akanbi-Oke     Ibrahim Abduquadri Abikan     Ayegbeni     Shehu Jimoh     Elelu     Jimoh Lambe Abdulkareem     Amina Susa'a De Ahmed     Mustapha Akanbi     Sa'ad Alanamu     Women For Change And Development Initiative