IGP warns against detaining suspects beyond 48hrs

Date: 2018-10-15

The Inspector General of Police, Mr Ibrahim Idris has again warned his officers and men to guide against detaining or keeping any suspect in police custody beyond the specification of the law which is forty eight hours.

According to him , any police personnel involved in such illegal detention has breached the right of such suspect.

The Kwara State Commissioner of Police, Mr Bolaji Fafowora made the position of the Inspector General known in Ilorin, the state capital while answering questions on a Radio Kwara personality interview programme "Playing Host".

Mr Fafowora said any police involved in such unlawful detention and the police authority is sued, the salary and the gratuity of such officer would be used to pay the garnishee order. Though, the police commissioner disclosed that the police authority would first pay such fine to avoid embarassement, and later such money would be deducted from the gratuity of the indicted officer.

According to him, the police hierarchy does not want to be involved in any issue involving human right laws pr anyform of abuses.

Mr Fafowora also disclosed that the Inspector General of police has further directed that all hospitals that recieve cases of patients with gun shot, including armed robbery suspects, they should first be treated but advised the hospital authorities to report such matter to the nearest police station for further investigation to acertain the gun shot injury.

The police boss said a bill to that effect is before the National Assembly and immediately it is passed into law, the matter would be a thing of the past. He therefore appealed to all officers and men of the command to follow strictly all laws and order guiding them in the discharge of their legitimate duties so as not to fall foul of the law.



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Saheed Popoola     Valsolar Consortium     Saidu Isa     Mahfouz Adedimeji     Moshood Mustapha     AbdulRauf Keji     Alao Ayotunde     Patigi Regatta     Anilelerin     Abdulfatai Baakini     Ola Falade     Mohammed Yahaya Barki     Ilorin East/South Federal Constituency     Salihu Yahaya     Taofik Abdulkareem     Apaola     Ajidagba     Bilikis Oladimeji     Ijagbo     Hamza Usman     Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq     Olaiya Zuberu     Valsolar-Kwara Company Limited     Ishak Mohammed Sabi     Is'haq Modibbo Kawu     Playing Host     Aro Yahaya     Isiaka Danmeromu     Olugbense     Tayo Alao     Ajibike Katibi     Lanre Aremu     Adam Abdullahi Al-Ilory     Abiodun Jacob Ajiboye     Oju Ekun Sarumi     Oba Sulaiman Asude     Bello Bature     Akorede     Inside Kwara     Owode Market     Oba Abdulrahim     Popo-Igbonna     Atunwa     Olatunde Olukoya     Saliu Alamoyo     Christopher Ayeni     Haliru Dantoro     Fulani     Towobola Abdulrahman Toyin     Jimba Babatunde     Yusuf Abdulkadir     Alapado     Temitope Ogunbanke     International Vocational Centre     Toyin Sanusi     Alimi Abdulrazaq     Lawan     Mustapha AbdulGaniyu     Shagari     Salary     Garba Ayodele Wahab     Millennium Development Goals     A.G.F Abdulrasaq     Saka Adeyemo     Council Of The Wise     Olayinka Olaogun     Ojuekun Sarumi     MAI Akande     Oba Abdulkadir La'aro     Akeem Lawal     Kayode Ibrahim     Samuel Adaramola     Tsado Manman     Ubandawaki     Abdulraheem Olesin     Valsolar     CCT