Ex-federal lawmaker declares interest in Kwara guber seat

Date: 2018-09-01
Mallam Abdulwahab Issa, a former member of the House of Representatives on Friday declared interest to contest 2019 governorship election in Kwara under the platform of People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

Issa declared his interest alongside two other aspirants for a Federal House of Representation and State House of Assembly seats.

The declaration was made at the residence of Alhaji Salihu Abdulkareem, a PDP elder in Ilorin South local government area of Kwara.

Addressing his teeming supporters, Issa, who is hailed from Ilorin South, explained that his decision was based on the approval of party leaders.

He noted that he was surprised by the decision of leaders, but stated however that he was ready to heed the call to contest for the post.

According to him, there was not a premonition that the gathering is meant to nominate him to contest the seat.

"We only came to this place for a meeting. When the party members informed me that I have been chosen to represent the local government and to contest for governorship ticket, I was surprised and at the same time happy with the offer.

“Since it is their wish for me to represent them, then I am ready to contest and be a good leader, as always," he said.

An aspirant for Ilorin East/Ilorin South seat in the Federal House of Representatives, Mallam Lanre Daibu also expressed his surprise towards the party members' decision.

"The thing that happened today, started as a meeting but turned out to be a surprise, and as members of PDP and followers of Senator Bukola Saraki, we remain loyal to his decision

"The youths were supposed to inform all the party members before now, but because of our good legacy, they believed in us and made the decision.

"As a true son of the state, which is our home, I accept to serve and assure the people of the state that I will represent them very well, as have always done in the past," he said.

Alhaji Moshood Onila, who was nominated for the Ilorin South seat at the state House of Assembly, said that his mission was to accept all duties and was ready as a leader of youths in the constituency.

"We need youths that is vibrant, tolerant, objective, visible and competent and that is why I accept to represent my people, in order for them to achieve their desires," he said.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the Governorship aspirant was also a former chairman of Ilorin South Local Government Area, while the aspirant for House of Representative was a former Commissioner of Education as well as a former chairman of Ilorin South Local Government Area. (NAN)



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Ijakadi     Elerinjare     Adegoke Bamidele     Ilesha-Gwanara     Third Estate     Savannah Centre For Diplomacy, Democracy And Development     Oniwasi Agbaye     Council Of The Wise     Esuwoye     Yusuf Ali     Abdulhakeem Amao     Abdullahi Atanda     Suleiman Abubakar     Veterinary Teaching Hospital     Asa     Ope Saraki     Manzuma     Gbemisola Saraki     AGF Abdulrazak     Revenue Court     Jaiz Bank     Mohammed Khadijat Kubura     Busari Alabi Alausa     Umar Ahmed Gunu     Mamman Saba Jibril     Afonja     Allocation     NSCIA     TIC     Saka Saadu     Niguel Gallando Marcias     Iqra Books     Obasanjo     CUTI     Aminat Ahmed     Ramat Oganija     Yahaya Oloriegbe     Samuel Adaramola     Chemiroy Nigeria Limited     Rapheal Ashaolu     Minister     Funmi Salau     Micheal Imodu-Ganmo Road     Olatunji Bamgbola     Hameed Oladipupo Ali     Elelu     Matthew Babaoye     LEAH Charity Foundation     Senate     Ishola Balogun Fulani     Babaita     Lai Mohammed     Kwha.gov.ng     Oloye     Alfa Belgore     Onilorin Of Ilorin     Sunday Otokiti     Igbomina     Abubakar Olusola Saraki     Adebayo Salami     Razaq Atunwa     Saka Keji     Abdulmajeed Wahab     Bamidele Adegoke     Ajayi Okasanmi     Lanre Aremu     Ayodele Kuburat Olaosebikan     Aminat Omodara     Yahaya A Paniyaro     Razak Atunwa     Jimoh Lambe Abdulkareem     Ola Falade     Moses Afolayan     Salihu Alhaji Musa     Gobirawa     Simeon Ajibola     Abdulrahman Abdulrazak