NBA verifies over 49,000 lawyers

Date: 2018-03-13

THE Membership and Bar Services Directorate of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) has verified 49,000 lawyers across the country.

The exercise is in a bid to sanitise the legal profession and reduce the incidence of fake lawyers and quackery in the legal profession.

NBA General Secretary Aare Isiaka Abiola Olagunju presented a report on the verification at the just concluded National Executive Committee ( NEC) meeting in Ilorin, Kwara State.

He said: "The NBA Database Verification exercise is an ongoing process. Over 49,855 active lawyers have carried out their verification exercise.

"You may recall that the NBA in 2011 made it mandatory for all active lawyers in Nigeria to undertake a verification exercise to enable the association update vital details of its members.

"Right now, we are working on creating a membership platform on verification whereby any lawyer can personally update his or her phone numbers, e-mail address, contact address and branch, if and when any of these has been changed

"When the unit receives complaint regarding verification of a lawyer, such application is forwarded to the General Secretary and then acted upon.

"Lawyers may send request for such services to the secretariat individually, or through their branches, international bar association, organisation, and parastatals, etc.

"The profession has been to a large extent, preserved from the marauding effect of imposters and impersonators, hence the lawyer column (find a lawyer) on the website is a valuable tool for the search of lawyers since only verified lawyers are uploaded."




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Baba Isale     Omu-aran     Mufutau Gbadamosi Esuwoye     Ishaq Oloyede     Ejidongari     Olateju Lukman     Federal Polytechnic Offa     Hassan Oyeleke     Quranic Recitation Competition     Kisira     KWASAA     Abdulrazaq Magaji     Kwabes     Ibrahim Kayode Adeyemi     Kunle Suleiman     Sulyman Age AbdulKareem     Kola Shittu     John Dara     Ishak Mohammed Sabi     Arandun     Kannike     Rafiu Ibrahim     Afolayan     Bola Iyabo Ibiyeye Adisa     Bankole Omisore     Nurudeen Muhammed     Joseph Yemi Ajayi     George Innih     Abdulkadir Remi Hawawu     Pategi     Ilota     Yoruba     Baakini     Odogun Olushola Gabriel     Khadijat Ayoola Yusuf     Matthew Babaoye     Amina Susa'a De Ahmed     Olugbense     Garba Ado Sanni     Oke-Oyi     Olaosebikan     Ayinke Saka     Transition Implementation Committee     Eleja Taiwo Banu     Abdulrahman Iliasu     Local Government Pension Board     Okedare     Ayedun     Share/Tsaragi     KWACOBPA     Habeeb Saidu     College Of Health     Monsurat Omotosho     Muyiwa Oladipo Kanu     Laolu Saraki     Akanbi-Oke     Ajidagba     Oni Adebayo     Bankole Omishore     Abdulraufu Mustapha     Kwara North     Ayeni     Ariyo     Odo-Owa     Ibrahim Issa Jetti     Ahmed Alhasssan     Ahmad Ali     Ola Falade     Atunwa     MAI Akande     Femi Gbajabiamila     Oyun     Societe Generale Bank Of Nigeria     Minister     Tayo Alao     NTA Ilorin     Bahago