Kwara LP urges Omotosho to strengthen ties with labour unions

Date: 2017-10-16

The Kwara State chapter of Labour Party (LP) has urged its newly elected national chairman, Dr Mike Omotosho to commence the process of strengthening relationship with labour unions and its affiliates across the country to build strong support based for the party by Nigerian workers.

Omotosho emerged the new national chairman following the sack of Alhaji AbdulKadir AbdulSalam who was accused of fraud, embezzlement and forgery among other anti-party activities.

The party in a statement on Sunday signed by its chairman and secretary, comrade Joshua Babalola and comrade AbdulKareem Onagun respectively, a copy of which was made available to Pilot Politics noted that workers must be made to own the process of building the party's membership drive similar to what is obtained outside the country like Britain, Norway and Brazil among others countries.

It advised the new national chairman to reach out to arrived members who have left the party because of the impunity and authoritarian style of the last leadership and Civil Society Organisations (CSOs) to further strengthens the party's mass appeal.

According to the statement, there is the need for a stakeholders forum to set a comprehensive agenda for the party that will herald a blueprint for its development into a virile and full-fledged national party.

"Your emergence is a manifestation of your track record and leadership qualities demonstrated over the years most especially as Governor of Rotary Club international and gubernatorial candidate of the party in the 2015 election in Kwara State.

"To us in Kwara Labour Party, it is a thing of joy to produce the national chairman for the first time in the history of our great party. We are however not in doubt of your capacity to give the party a purposeful leadership that will reposition it towards providing a viable political platform for patriotic and well meaning critical mass in the country to enthrone social justice, good governance and people oriented leadership...

"We are proud of you and appreciate your support for the sustenance and development of the party in the state making it the only viable opposition party in the state with functional secretariat and structures across the sixteen local governments in the state.

"Your tenure will bring to the party good fortunes and victory in all elected process from this period and in the 2019 general elections to produce the first democratically elected president on the platform of labour party and state governors, legislatures at all levels and local government chairmen across the country".




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

NAWOJ     Transition Implementation Committee     Kwara 2015     Kwabes     Federal Allocation     Ibrahim Abdullahi     Oja-Oba     Akorede     Segun Abifarin     Odolaye Aremu     Wasiu Odewale     Abdulwahab Ololele     Kamaldeen Ajibade     Abdullahi Atanda     Kazeem Adekanye     Pius Abioje     Omotoso     Agboola Babatunde     Onikijipa     Shonga     Dauda Adeniran Adeshola     Raimi Iyanda     Muyiwa Oladipo Kanu     Abubakar Suleiman     Bayo Lawal     Alanamu     Kayode Ogunlowo     Ayinke Saka     Hijab     Ojuekun Sarumi     Bola Iyabo Ibiyeye Adisa     Valsolar     Babata     Yoruba     Sandal     Mahmud Ajeigbe     Baba Isale     Rueben Parejo     Alabi Lawal     Yusuf Amuda Abubakar     Owode Market     Alfa Belgore     Hamza Usman     Lanre Aremu     Usman Rifun     Nurudeen Muhammed     Mohammed Kamaludeen     Veterinary Teaching Hospital     Yunus Oniboki     Students Union Government     Ladi Hassan     Oko     TIC     Bureau Of Lands     Bahago     Sunday Otokiti     Bukola Saraki     Abdullahi Saadudeen Alikinla     Baba-Isale     Abubakar Aliagan     Afonja Descendants Union     KWTV     Salihu Yahaya     Omu-aran     Maigida     Dele Belgore     Ilorin Airport     Yeketi     Eruku     Rex Olawoye     Omotosho     Ilorin Central Mosque     Senate President     Anilelerin     Segun Adeniyi     Bankole Omisore     Yusuf Abubakar