Alleged Misappropriation of Govt Assests: KWHA to sanction all individuals who illegally possess Govt 's Assets

Date: 2017-10-03

The Kwara House of Assembly has vowed to sanction individuals, or Organisation found guilty of misappropriation of assets and liabilities belonging to Kwara Government, under the care of the state owned Harmony Holdings Limited.

The Chairman of the eight-man ad-hoc Committee investigating the alleged Misappropriation of Government assets, Hon Hassan Oyeleke gave the assurance at the maiden public sitting of the Committee held at the premises of the House of Assembly in Ilorin.

The Committee chairman who is also the House Leader, while addressing the management of the Kwara Harmony holdings, led by its Group Managing Director, Mr Tope Daramola, said the committee was determined to carry out its assignment without fear or favour,pointing out that the exercise was in accordance with the provisions of the 1999 Constitution.

Hon. Oyeleke who said the ad- hoc Committee which would examine the Standard Procedure of Organisation of the Holdings and its activities as a revenue generating body for the State, expressed confidence that the outcome of the exercise, would assist in ensuring that the Holdings realise the purposes for which it was established.

According to him, the House as representatives of the masses, would not fold it's arm and watch state government's property being misappropriated or sold illegally.

He said the Committee had visited Abuja and Kaduna to inspect the state Government properties which according to him, would assist in juxtaposing with the submissions of the management of Harmony Holdings.

The Chairman assured that the exercise if resolved in favour of the Holdings would promote its image in the public domain, pointing out that, where it is otherwise, the Legislature would use all in its power, to ensure that no culprit go unpunished.

The Chairman of committee then announced the removal of a member of the committee Hon. Adamu Usman over what he described as conflict of interest.

The Leader of the House said Hon. Ahmed lbn-Mohammed representing Kaima - Kemanji,-Wajibe Constituency, replaced Hon. Adamu Usman while another member Mrs Bunmi Afolayan representing Oke Constituency was added to add impetus to the Ad - hoc Committee.

The Group Managing Director of the Kwara Harmony Holdings Limited, Mr Tope Daramola ,while speaking on oath told the Committee that the Harmony holdings is 100 percent owed by the Kwara state Government.

Mr Tope Daramola confirmed in his submission that there is no individual or group, including all the Directors of the company, owes a share either directly or by proxy .

The Committee is expected to inspect State Government property in some parts of the state in continuation of its investigation.

It would be recalled that the Speaker of the House Dr Ali Ahmad inaugurated the ad-hoc Committee on 6th September following an allegations of misappropriation of Kwara Government assets under the care of Holdings.



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Sanusi Abubakar     Sunday Otokiti     Dogara     Oniwasi Agbaye     Bio Ibrahim     IQRA College     Village Alive Development Association     Patience Jonathan     Plat Technologies     Tunji Arosanyin     Olaitan Adefila     Kwara State Coalition Of Business And Professional Associations     Kwara Central     Ifelodun     Iyiola Oyedepo     Erubu Oba Zubair     Oba Of Jebba     Press Release     Sulyman Age AbdulKareem     Ahmad Uthman     Iqra Books     Ramat Oganija     Oko-Erin     Allocation     JAAC     Idiagbon     Kwarareports     Buari Edun     Lai Mohammed     Ahmed 'Lateef     Ilorin.Info     Oke-Kura     Hajj     TIC     Ojuekun     Quareeb Islamic Association     Kaiama     Mufti Of Ilorin     Soffiyyallah Kamaldeen     Mohammed Katsina Ahmed     Abdul-Rasheed Na'Allah     Guber Aspirant     KWACOBPA     Abegunde Goke     Kola Shittu     International Vocational Centre     Owode Market     GANZY     Photo News     Yunus Lawal     Abdulkadir Remi Hawawu     Iyabo Adewuyi     08001000100     Musa Alhassan Buge     Kishira     Inside Kwara     Ladi Hassan     KWIRS     Taofeek Sanusi     KSIRS     Yusuf Abdulwahab     EFCC     Olatunji Moronfoye     Sherif Shagaya     Adeleke Ogungbe     Ilota     Balogun Ajikobi     Micheal Imoudu     Mohammed Kamaludeen     Monkey Pox     Moses Afolayan     Salake     Khadijat Ayoola Yusuf     Charles Ibitoye     Sidikat Uthman Ajibola     Salihu Yahaya     Micheal Imodu-Ganmo Road